End of Read-a-thon Wrap-up

22 Apr

Sooo how did you guys do yesterday??

I have to say, I think this was my most productive read-a-thon ever. I really made an effort to read the whole time, and I’m happy with the progress I made, especially over the later half of the day. I was able to stay up until 3am, which I think is close to a new record for me during a read-a-thon. Only during my first one was I up later. I think I probably could’ve stayed up later but I have plans today that involve being outside and craft beer and food trucks and I need to be functional for that.

I also got some books crossed off my TBR list that had been lurking, and according to Goodreads, I’m now two books ahead of schedule for my goal of 52 for the year.

Here’s the final end-of-event meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? The last one, hour 19. I was definitely feeling sleepy by that point.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The Masque of the Red Death was really a fast read and I tore through that right when it counted and I needed a high-interest book to keep me motivated.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Honestly, I was kind of disappointed in the lack of cheerleader comments I got. I don’t think there were any official cheerleaders until the very end, and I had to ask for it. I didn’t realized how much I rely on that motivation, when I get an email notification that someone’s commented on the blog.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? This is a personal thing, but I think having one blog post and updating it throughout the day worked great for me. Its been tough for me to figure out a system that works best for regular updating, and that doesn’t clog people’s feed readers. I think this might be the way to go from here on out. I also liked that I set out 3-hour intervals to stop and post updates. It wasn’t always right at 3 hours, but it seemed to work well enough. I didn’t feel like I was missing out on something by reading too much, and I also felt okay about putting the book down and taking a break because I’d planning it out.
  5. How many books did you read? I read 3 full books, and almost half of a fourth.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Why Be Happy When You Can Be Normal?, The Masque of the Red Death, Home and Gold.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Surprisingly, I think I liked Home the best.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? There wasn’t a single book in my stack that I didn’t love, but Why Be Happy When You Can Be Normal? was probably the slowest of all the books I read. It was still a wonderful read though.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I wasn’t a cheerleader.
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely, and one of these days I’d like host a mini-challenge.
2 Responses to “End of Read-a-thon Wrap-up”

  1. Jen @ The Well Read Fish April 25, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Have you read other Jeanette Winterson books? I had honestly never heard of her until recently and her memoir, the one you said was slow, is on my To-Read list. . .

    • Rachel April 25, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      I had never heard of her either, nor had I read anything else. What she describes of her novels in the memoir honestly doesn’t make me want to read them, but her memoir is absolutely worth reading. It wasn’t slow because it was bad; it was slow because it deserved to be savored. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 867 other followers

