prologue

10 Jul

I guess the best place to start is at the beginning. Which makes starting this blog right now so satisfying. I’m just starting a new book, Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell, and I always like the idea of starting something new on a Friday when the best part of the week is just ahead.

33566708

If you’ve made your way here through some other means than me shyly telling you I’ve started a new blog, welcome! (Okay fine, welcome to everyone :)) You should probably start with my About section if you’re brand new here — hey! just like me!

I’m still feeling my way around WordPress, so the design here might change. Don’t be alarmed, don’t change the channel, I’m just fiddling with the antenna a bit (though with the digital TV switchover, that reference is a bit outdated isn’t it?). Some of the things I’ll feature here will be theme days, some my own ideas and some I’ve shamelessly stolen from others.

My new book, Beat the Reaper, was the inspiration for today’s theme (and all future Friday themes): First Line Fridays.

I’ve always been intrigued and in awe of the writer that can capture my attention with the very first sentence. Often its a great way to hook a reader, to give them a taste of what’s to come. Today’s First Line from Bazell’s debut is a perfect example:

So I’m on my way to work and I stop to watch a pigeon fight a rat in the snow, and some fuckhead tries to mug me!

That’s all it takes, and I can instantly get a sense of what I’m in for and who’s going to narrate.

So here’s the task: open your current read and post the first sentence in the comments. Does it do what a first line is supposed to do?

Feel free to use this on your blogs too! Just be sure to link back πŸ™‚

And welcome!!

4 Responses to “prologue”

  1. Lusty Reader July 10, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    bienvenue to WP and book blogging!!!! more places to chat books sounds parfait for me!

  2. Anna July 10, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

    YAY!!!

  3. Sheila DeChantal July 13, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    Stopping by to welcome you to book blogging! Have fun! Stop by any time, coffee is always on and I am helpful if you have questions. πŸ™‚

  4. austenfan July 13, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    That one is a very telling first line, indeed. LOL.

    Anyway, welcome to book blogging! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

