Teaser Tuesday: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

21 Jul

I’m going on vacation this week, to my cousin’s wedding in California. I am supremely excited about this because I will get to engage in my two favorite kinds of reading: airplane reading and beach reading. Okay so they also fall into the vacation reading and summer reading categories, but specifically I love cross country flights that give me oodles of time to do nothing but read. I finished Jellicoe Road, which was well worth plugging away at and richly deserved the Printz award it received. While I typically have little patience for books that just drop you in the middle of a plot and a fully created world, this one didn’t take long to hook me, and I sped through the rest of the book, savoring every single mysterious and/or lovey-dovey moment.

My latest read though certainly qualifies for me as both airplane reading (engaging and able to hold my attention for long periods) and beach reading (fun and plot-driven). The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie is also my Teaser Tuesday!

Teaser Tuesday’s are hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 

 

I picked this book almost exclusively because of the cover. Isn’t it pretty?? What I love about it is that the image you see to the left there is actually printed on the cover — no dust jackets here! I’m about 100 pages in and I’m already looking forward to the next installment in this series. (I also secretly want to be Flavia de Luce, the intrepid 11-year-old protagonist :)). Here’s why, from page 95:

I’d do the same with Inspector Hewitt, I thought, as I pocketed the thing. Yes! I’d solve this case and present it to him wrapped up in gaily colored ribbons.

 

I had to stop myself there, even though the continuation of this thought is so snarky and precocious. I ❤ Flavia 🙂

 

Tomorrow I’m posting about great beach reads! Stay tuned!

 

 

 

One Response to “Teaser Tuesday: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie”

  1. DD August 27, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    Ok, in all fairness it is Thursday (although that’s still TT!) but I only just got the link to your blog this a.m. and am making up for lost time. Two random lines from The Gospel According to Jesus Christ by Jose Saramego (ps: this book is incredible, pps: I got congratulated for reading it by a family who thought I was actually reading the gospel at lunch one day – awkward much? ppps: can’t really have spoilers as such…we all know how this one turned out).

    Page 241
    Tell me, and those simple words were said with such love and tenderness that Jesus could not hold back his tears, and after much weeping he revealed what he had hoped to withhold, I dream over and over that my father is coming to kill me.

    But her soul was at peace, she knew that this man in her arms was the one for whom she had been waiting all her life, the one who belonged to her and to whom she belonged, his body pure, hers defiled, but their world is just beginning.

Leave a Reply

