Teaser Tuesday: The Time-Traveler’s Wife

28 Jul

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

So my Teaser this week is from a book I’ve read before, but it’s been a really long time and I am so excited for the movie to come out that I managed to find a spot for it in my Summer Challenge. Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger is long but enchanting. I also think that Henry is one of the sexiest characters I’ve ever read. He’s a time-traveling librarian — need I say more?

 

My teaser, page 287:

As we sing And our friends are all on board I suddenly hear my voice floating alone and I turn and Henry’s clothes lie in a heap, the knife is on the kitchen floor. Half of a pepper sways slightly on the cutting board.

I will post tomorrow about all the books I read while on vacation (apologies for missing First Line Friday!!) and some short reviews. Let’s just say it was an extremely productive and I had some great vacation reading time :).

6 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday: The Time-Traveler’s Wife”

  1. Malnurtured Snay July 28, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    I loved that book — I think the movie will suck, but I’m glad people are picking up the book because of it!

    “Blomkvist described what he had found as concisely as possible, and he showed Frode the series of pictures from Jarnvagsgatan. Then he explained how his own daughter had unlocked the mysteries of the names in the date book.”

    — The Girl w/ The Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson p322.

    • nfmgirl July 28, 2009 at 11:49 am #

      What a cool teaser! That would be pretty freaky!

  2. Leya July 28, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    One of those books that I’ve been meaning to read but never get around to…

    Happy reading!

  3. avisannschild July 29, 2009 at 9:14 am #

    I loved this book too! I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying it. I must admit I haven’t decided whether I’ll see the movie or not; I’m not a big fan of the actress playing Claire (whose name escapes me at the moment).

    • Rachel July 29, 2009 at 9:17 am #

      It’s Rachel McAdams who I think actually is pretty well cast, but I’m tentative about the movie too. Just because the book is sooo long and I can’t imagine how they’re going to adequately portray the story on-screen.

      • avisannschild July 29, 2009 at 10:22 am #

        Thank you! I loved the book so much that I’m not sure I want to risk the movie ruining it for me…

Leave a Reply

