new books!

3 Aug

I love getting new books. Its one of those easy pleasures that I just can’t duplicate any other way. Maybe it has something to do with retail therapy, but I’ve discovered that getting free books can be just as satisfying as buying them myself. I rarely frequent my local library (mostly because the nearest DC library is the main branch downtown and it smells like urine outside and the library by my house is so pathetic I never find what I’m looking for there) so I’m mostly a purchaser.

However I recently signed up for a book swap through Angela at http://ang-smiles.blogspot.com/ and I was paired with Adrienne at http://askamillennial.blogspot.com/. She messaged me on GoodReads and we quickly exchanged books. I sent her my copy of  Before You Know Kindness which is one of my absolute favorite reads. I hope she loves it! She sent me The Jane Austen Book Club which I’m super-psyched for too (and I think I even found a spot for it in my Summer Challenge).

I also got a copy of The Opposite of Love by Julie Buxbam in the mail from Random House. I’m pretty sure I signed up somewhere to get a copy of this, but I can’t remember for the life of me where. This book has been absolutely everywhere — I swear I saw at least 3 giveaways for it on different blogs — but nonetheless, I’m really excited to read it too. I’m not sure when I’ll get to it though. I’ve got so many books to read as part of my Summer Challenge that I’m having trouble seeing an end point. The obvious end is Aug. 31st which is technically when the challenge is over, but I’m so excited about the jolt that it’s given my reading and the different range of books I’m reading as a result. I’m seriously contemplating just finishing the challenge, summer or not. There are some great books on the list and I had a lot of fun matching my already-owned books with the tasks. Is that cheating? Should I pick a new challenge for the fall and re-assign my books that way?

I’m also about a week away from jaunting off on another wedding adventure (not my own unfortunately), but I’m heading to Idaho for my cousin’s wedding and I’m planning my book packing list already!

I finished The Time Traveler’s Wife (even better the second time around) and just started North of Beautiful which is part of Task 30.5. I tend to plow through Young Adult books quickly, so I’m hoping to read that, Paper Towns and If I Stay this week/on the plane to Idaho. Then I’ll take Drop City and the Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime with me to read there. Both of those are for the 1001 books to read before you die task.

Lastly, I’m planning on taking 10 books with me to Israel — 4180 pages worth of books. Overkill? Maybe. Great backup plan in case I get stranded? Definitely. Here’s what will be making the trip with me:

  • Children of Men
  • Atonement
  • Pillars of the Earth
  • Angels and Demons
  • Jane Austen Book Club
  • Less Than Zero
  • Look Again
  • Alice’s Adventure’s in Wonderland
  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
  • How Stella Got her Groove Back

Quite the varied list, I know, but I think the more variety I have the more likely it will be that something from that stack will be interesting to me no matter what mood I’m in. And 1000 pages of that is Pillars of the Earth by itself. More manageable I think. Part of the fun of this challenge is that I’m re-discovering books I bought ages ago: new books without spending any new money.

Leave a Reply

