New Fall Books

10 Sep

Everyone and their mother has a list out of books to look forward to this fall. We all are aware of the new Dan Brown book being released on Sept. 15th. I’d like to say I won’t read it, but I’m strangely curious about the treatment he’ll give to Washington, DC. It feels like it might be the same fascination I had with watching National Treasure: Book of Secrets; it’s just different when you see those monuments and historical sites every single day. That being said, I feel about fall books the way I feel about fall movies, which is of course when the Oscar contenders start to replace the big budget summer fare. I love a good exploding movie the same way I love a light beach read, but when the weather turns colder, I want to be able to use my brain a bit more. I don’t think I’m alone in that trend (I think it stems from the summer vacation we all got as kids, not wanting to think during the hotter months), but it’s a chicken or egg conundrum — do we like more complex entertainment in the fall because of the weather or because that’s what the entertainment/publishing world makes available and seasons have nothing to do with it? That’s the sociology major in me going off on a tanget :), but thinking about all the amazing books being released in the next few months makes me almost wish I hadn’t signed up for two classes so I had more time for personal reading. Almost.

The Book Maven has a great list up on the Little Books of Fall that I compare to the indies that you just didn’t see coming, but that lots of people will be talking about. Her list includes some I’ve heard of and some I haven’t, like THE MAN WHO LOVED BOOKS TOO MUCH by Allison Hoover Bartlett, THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT by Dana Welch, WOLF HALL by Hilary Mantel, AWAIT YOUR REPLY by Dan Chaon and LIES MY MOTHER NEVER TOLD ME by Kaylie Jones.

I find that the Barnes & Noble Web site is great for finding books by upcoming release date too. Among the ones they’re listing as big for fall (click on the image to be taken to the B&N site):

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger: Book Cover

I loved Time Traveler’s Wife so I’m really excited by Her Fearful Symmetry. Though the description looks like something I normally wouldn’t pick up, that’s how I felt about TTW when it first came out. I’m willing to give it a chance purely based on her previous novel, a leap of faith I don’t easily make based on one previous book.

 

Release Date: Sept. 26th

 

Last Night in Twisted River by John Irving: Book Cover

I’m such an John Irving fan it’s not even funny. I rarely can list my favorite book — there are just too many I love — but Irving regularly appears on the top of my list of favorite authors. I’m a tad skeptical of Last Night in Twisted River because of the poor reviews of his last few novels but I’ll still buy it, still read it and probably still sing his praises.

 

Release Date: Oct. 27th

 

Half Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls: Book Cover

Again, I’m looking forward to this purely on the strength of her memoir, The Glass Castle.

This one is the story of Walls’ grandmother told in a first-person POV. I’m hoping that the strength of her memoir transfers over to this novel.

 

Release Date: Oct. 6th

 

The Magician's Elephant by Kate DiCamillo: Book Cover

What kind of Children’s Literature student would I be if I didn’t mention this new tale by the author of The Tale of Desperaux and Because of Winn-Dixie?  This promises to be another enchanting story by a Newberry Prize winner.

 

Release Date: Already out!

 

 

The Wild Things by Dave Eggers: Book Cover

With the upcoming movie based on Maurice Sendak’s lengendary children’s book Where the Wild Things Are, I am just as excited for this novel by one of my go-to authors Dave Eggers which is loosely based on Sendak’s book as well as the screenplay for the movie by Spike Jonez.

 

Release Date: Oct. 1

 

A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore: Book Cover

A Gate At The Stairs has been out for a few weeks now and it’s one of those books I keep seeing in the book store but just haven’t bought yet. I have a feeling it will quickly be added to my growing pile of books. It seems thematically and chronologically significant as the anniversary of 9/11 is tomorrow and this novel looks at the anxieties that exist on many fronts in the aftermath of the terrorist attacks. Look for this one to be on everyone’s short list.

Release Date: Go buy it now!

 

The Promised World by Lisa Tucker: Book Cover

I’m a big fan of Lisa Tucker’s previous books and her ability to capture the relationships between siblings and among family members, and the description of The Promised World makes me believe this novel will be no exception. Check it out. I certainly will.

 

Release Date: This one’s out already too!

 

What fall new releases are you looking forward to? Has anyone read any of these yet?

One Response to “New Fall Books”

  1. alitareads September 10, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    I didn’t know Jeannette Walls had a new book coming out! I’ll definitely be reading that one as well as Where the Wild Things Are.

Leave a Reply

