First Line Friday: The Giver

18 Sep

The Giver by Lois Lowry: Book CoverMy apologies for being more than a little absent this week (No Teaser Tuesday! My bad!). I’m trying to get in the groove of being back in school, and balancing my school work with my marathon training and finding time for my little corner of the bloggosphere has been a challenge. Also, I’m still reading Little Women. Not to say that Little Women isn’t fantastic, but I’m reading so much slower since I also read The Giver by Lois Lowry for one of my classes. How did I manage to get through school without reading this amazing book the first time? It’s very strongly in the fantasy realm (not fairies and magic fantasy, but certainly not realistic either) which possibly explains it. I was never much for the really out there books as a kid, but I’m so glad I got a chance to read this.

Today’s First Line Friday comes from that Newberry winner:

 It was almost December, and Jonas was beginning to be frightened.

 
 
5 Responses to “First Line Friday: The Giver”

  1. [F]oxymoron September 18, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    That cover just oozes wisdom! So it’s good, huh?

    • Rachel September 18, 2009 at 9:43 am #

      I was kind of shocked how good. I mean, I’ve read some Newberry’s in my time, but this was one of the best. Easy and fast and so thought-provoking. You’ll read it in an hour 🙂

  2. Erin September 18, 2009 at 10:35 am #

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. It is so good! I am glad that you got to read it for a class.

  3. Liz September 18, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    ugh, I remember when I was in 5th grade I purposely avoided The Giver because the cover creeped me out … I suppose started judging covers young

    • Rachel September 18, 2009 at 10:50 am #

      The cover’s a bit creepy. I think that’s why I avoided picking it up too. I was like, ew I don’t want to read about an old man. Who gives things. My little, well-taught brain was going, BAD TOUCH! But I’m glad to have been proved wrong. Just fold the cover back and don’t think about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

