Readathon: Mid-Event Meme

24 Oct

1. What are you reading right now? Just started The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo

2. How many books have you read so far? Four total, working on #5

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Actually, the one I’m reading now. I had to get through a bunch of school reading first before I could jump in to it.

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? Not really, just had to give my parents the warning that any chores could wait until tomorrow.

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? A couple, to help my dad move heavy furniture or marble, since he’s remodeling the bathroom. But it was nice to have a break. I did have to convince him to move rooms to watch football though.

6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How well it’s going!! I love the books I’ve read so far and I’m excited for the next 12 hours.

7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? As a first-timer, it would have been helpful if the Welcome post on the Read-a-thon site had come earlier then the first hour. I felt a little unprepared with how I would update since I hadn’t had known I could win prizes for keeping track of time read. I lost a lot of the first hour to figuring out how it all worked and how mini-challenges worked as well.

8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? I would have more ready-to-eat snacks available. Thankfully my mom made a great dinner tonight πŸ™‚

9. Are you getting tired yet? :::YAAAAWWNNNN::: Who me??

10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Comfort and hydration is key!! I’ve been keeping a full glass of water with me wherever I’m reading and forcing myself to take a bathroom break every hour. It’s good to stretch the legs and I’m holding up really well thanks to the water. Also, my sweats are possibly the best thing ever invented πŸ™‚

6 Responses to “Readathon: Mid-Event Meme”

  1. Ronnica October 24, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    Water…good strategy. I want to read that book…hope you’re enjoying it!

  2. alitareads October 24, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    Water is definitely needed – especially after quickly consuming two cups of coffee early in the day…

    Can you believe we’re past the half way point of the ‘thon? It’s gone by so fast! I hope you’re still having fun – enjoy your remaining books πŸ™‚

  3. Drea October 24, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    wow, congrats on being on book 5 already! Keep up the good work!

  4. Suburban Sweetheart October 24, 2009 at 9:28 pm #

    You…. ARE INSANE.

  5. Michelle October 24, 2009 at 10:05 pm #

    Five books? That is impressive! Way to hang in there! Over halfway through – keep it up!

  6. softdrink October 24, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    Sounds like you’re having a great readathon! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

