Readathon: End of the ‘Thon Meme + Final Update

25 Oct

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? The very last, hour 19. I went from feeling fantastic to falling asleep with the book on my chest.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? House of the Scorpion was a great YA sci-fi/fantasy book that I COULD NOT put down. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was also fantastic and if I’d started it earlier in the day, I could have easily finished it.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I mentioned it in my earlier mid-way meme, but I would have loved a bit more guidance on how best to structure updates before the beginning of hour 1. As a first timer, I didn’t really know what I was going to need to keep track of.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The cheerleaders!! I stayed away from my computer, but I kept my iPhone next to me and getting email notifications that people were leaving messages was a great pick-me-up. Also, all the minichallenges where I had to get up and be active — yoga, dancing, etc. — were the most helpful thing that kept me going for as long as I did.
5. How many books did you read? 4 and a half

6. What were the names of the books you read? Meet Samantha, Nellie’s Promise, House of the Scorpion, Stone Fox and half of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

7. Which book did you enjoy most? Toss up between House of the Scorpion and Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I think Tattoo would have won hands down if I’d been able to finish it. But it speaks volumes that I woke up after the challenge was over this morning and am still sitting around nose buried in it. My dad asked me if this was a full weekend challenge because I was still so enthralled.
8. Which did you enjoy least? There were none that I didn’t enjoy, but Stone Fox made me the most emotional and made me really pause in my reading
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? They did great!!
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely, as a reader. I had a lot of fun, and now I have a baseline of what to expect from myself and goals to exceed

Total pages: 822

5 Responses to “Readathon: End of the ‘Thon Meme + Final Update”

  1. Louise October 25, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    Four books down, well done! Hopefully you’ve had some rest by now 🙂

  2. emily October 25, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    Congratulations on a successful read-a-thon! I recently read ‘The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo’ and loved it also, great book for keeping you motivated!

  3. Ronnica October 26, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    I want to read “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” but it might take a while as the request list at the library is long!

    Great job!

    • Rachel October 30, 2009 at 9:01 am #

      You should totally read it. And while you’re at the library picking it up, just go ahead and set aside the sequel, Girl Who Played with Fire, cause you’re gonna want to read it immediately after reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

  4. 3m.michelle October 29, 2009 at 7:52 pm #

    Great job on the readathon. I LOVED House of the Scorpion, though it was a bit depressing. Hope to see you next time!

Leave a Reply

