Readathon: Update #4 (Hour 18)

25 Oct

I think I’m done kids. At least for the next few hours.

Here’s my latest update. My reading really slowed in the last couple hours because my eyes were closing of their own accord. Man, am I ever not in college anymore.

Title of book(s) read since last update: Stone Fox and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Number of books read since you started: 4 total and I’m 202 pages through number 5
Pages read since last update: 285
Running total of pages read since you started: 787 pages
Amount of time spent reading since last update: 5 hours, 20 minutes
Running total of time spent reading since you started: 14 hours, 40 minutes

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is definitely interesting and doing its best to keep me awake, but I just don’t think I’m up for another 6.5 hours. I’m going to go to bed for a little while, set an alarm for 5am and read for the last three hours of the challenge. Good luck to all of you readers out there still awake and going strong!

6 Responses to “Readathon: Update #4 (Hour 18)”

  1. Trisha October 25, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    Enjoy your nap! And Happy Reading when you wake up.

  2. Suburban Sweetheart October 25, 2009 at 3:09 am #

    You are amazing. Seriouslyyyy.

    How’d you pick the books to read during this? Any method to your madness?

    • Rachel October 25, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

      There was definitely method. I had several books that just HAD to be read, like the House of the Scorpion and the American girl books, because I have papers to write on them this week. However, if I didn’t have classes to think about, I still probably would have included several YA books because they’re easy reads and normally pretty engaging. Otherwise, I picked books that are short — like A Three Dog Life, Children of Men and Autobiography of a Face — or books that I know other people have said are fast reads or are otherwise really un-put-down-able. I had The Lost Symbol in there because I thought it would something I wouldn’t have to think too hard about and would keep me awake. Same with the Sookie book. There’s also a pretty wide variety of fiction covered along with a couple of memoirs to keep me from getting bored.

  3. Dana October 25, 2009 at 4:20 am #

    enjoy your rest. And good luck for the rest of the read a thon.

  4. Eva October 25, 2009 at 4:21 am #

    You did great! 🙂 Hope to see you back at the end!

  5. Louise October 25, 2009 at 5:57 am #

    Are you still around? Or sleeping and resting? No matter what, you’ve done great so far. Ready for the last stretch?! Come on. GO GO GO. Cheering for you from Copenhagen, Denmark.

Leave a Reply

