November.

9 Nov

I don’t know about you guys, but seriously? November? NOVEMBER?

I’m so unprepared for it to be almost a new year. Clearly, my life is a little crazypants right now, but I’m trying to make time for as much reading as I can. I’m knee waist neck deep in books for school, and I hate that I’ve neglected you guys so much.

Recently, though, I’ve had a chance to read some great books for my two classes that I’m absolutely giddy over. I read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows for the second time (the first was of course when it was first published), The Secret Garden (I’m less enchanted this time around), and right now, I’m in the middle of Haroun and the Sea of Stories. This is one of those books that I was supposed to have read as an undergrad, but never did. I can’t believe I didn’t make time for it then, because I’m so loving it right now.

Rushdie wrote this for his son Zafar who told him that he should write books children can read. He wrote Haroun for that purpose while he was in exile as a result of the fatwa placed on his head for writing The Satanic Verses. In a lot of ways, you can see Rushdie trying to explain to his son the fatwa and the injustice of silencing a storyteller. Reading it now feels also a little timely since on Friday, TheBookseller.com announced that Rushdie will write a sequel to Haroun  called Luka and the Fire of Life. Haroun and the Sea of Stories is a gorgeous, whimsical allegory and I’m giddy for the sequel, though it looks like I’ll need to order it from Amazon.co.uk since it doesn’t appear to have a U.S. distributor yet. (If I’m wrong about that, please let me know!)

This announcement also makes me want to go back and read The Satanic Verses and Midnight’s Children. I’ve “read” Satanic Verses — by which I mean, I skimmed it in college enough to be able to talk about it coherently in class — so not really at all. But reading Haroun has sparked a desire to rediscover Rushdie. Because he really is brilliant.

One Response to “November.”

  1. lbluca77 November 9, 2009 at 4:51 pm #

    I never got into the Harry Potter thing. Not sure why. I know I would like the books if I actually read them.

    And I know, I can’t believe it is November too. Christmas is around the corner. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

