Those are the breaks…

3 Dec

So I’m on the final push for classes for the semester and the last few weeks have been brutal, let me tell you. It’s difficult to balance everything as it is, but as the holidays approach and I can see the end of the tunnel (or the end of the semester-long tunnel because it all starts up again January 13th), it gets harder and harder to focus. Happily though I’ve discovered a new appreciation — might I even say love — of fantasy novels through one of my classes. The last few weeks’ assignments have included The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman and Tales from Earthsea by Ursula Le Guin. Both of these are decidedly not books I would ever have picked up before this class, but since they’re both part of their own series, I’ve now got their companions on my TBR shelf. I even bought the large volume of Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy so I can move from book 2 to book 3 without pause. That’s how much I enjoyed The Golden Compass.

So even though I have two papers left to write and a couple more books to get through* I’m already planning out my reading list for the five weeks I have until classes resume in January. We’re just going to ignore the fact that at some point in those five weeks I need to apply to a Master’s program for Fall 2010.

I’m trying to incorporate some new books, and some of those classics on my list. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

  • The Girl Who Played With Fire (if I can pry it out of my father’s hands)
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest (Bought this from Amazon.uk because the first of Larrson’s books was so freaking amazing).
  • Hyperion by Dan Simmons (I borrowed this from my bestest friends last New Year’s when I went to Boston. I’m going back again this NYE. I refuse to have had this for over a year.)
  • The Road (I want to read this both because, omg how have I not read this yet, and because the movie looks amazing. Viggo, I ❤ you.)
  • Await Your Reply (I started this, got 50 pages in, and went, “Oh, wow. Oh, wow. Oooooh, wooooow.” Then I had to stop because I had school reading to do. Damn. Can’t wait to get back to this.)
  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (Another recommendation from my Bostonian friends. Though I’ve heard mixed reviews, it’s mostly from romance readers, and I’m not necessarily as concerned about that aspect of the story. We’ll see.)
  • And a few of Steinbeck’s Short Novels from this volume I picked up the other day.

It’s a list. I know, but I plan on working my way dilligently through it. I miss adult reading so much. But you never know, I might just open up the Pullman series again.

*One of those books is one that I get to choose myself. I’m picking Hunger Games.

One Response to “Those are the breaks…”

  1. Biblibio December 6, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    “The Golden Compass” is quite amazing, isn’t it? “The Subtle Knife” and “The Amber Spyglass” aren’t as good in my opinion (“The Amber Spyglass” is excellent in completely different ways, though…), but the series as a whole is one of ‘those’ series: it has to be read.

    As for Steinbeck, I have to admire the neatness of the compilation but I also have to shake my fist at the inclusion of one of my least favorite books ever, “The Pearl”. And this alongside one of my favorite books ever, “Of Mice and Men”. Oh well. It’s still a pretty sweet package deal.

Leave a Reply

