This is not a “best of” list…

8 Dec

I can’t do it, I cannot put together a Best Books of 2009. Why? Because I’ve been doing nothing but reading other people’s lists that are far better and far more well informed then I am. Take this post by Greg over at The New Dork Review of Books. He covers a few great lists, plus links to an aggregate of all the “Best of” lists out there. Seriously? How can I compete with that?

I know!! I’ll do a list of books that I didn’t read this year, but that I’m sure would have made my “Best of 2009” list.

  • Under the Dome: A Novel by Stephen King
  • The Wild Things by Dave Eggers
  • Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel by Jeannette Walls
  • The Promised World: A Novel by Lisa Tucker
  • Of Bees and Mist: A Novel by Erick Setiawan
  • This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  • Await Your Reply: A Novel by Dan Chaon
  • Born Round: The Secret History of a Full-Time Eater by Frank Bruni
  • Let the Great World Spin: A Novel by Colum McCann
  • Columbine by Dave Cullen
  • Olive Kitteridge: A Novel in Stories by Elizabeth Strout
  • Brooklyn: A Novel by Colm Tóibín
  • The Song Is You: A Novel by Arthur Phillips
  • Little Bee by Chris Cleave
  • Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
  • The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski
  • The Anthologist by Nicholson Baker
  • The Selected Works of T. S. Spivet by Reif Larsen

To be fair, I don’t even know if some of these were published this year or not. But there’s my list.

I did actually read some great books this, though I think only a handful were actually published in ’09. I discovered The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, and as of last night, The Hunger Games. What an absolutely incredible book. Seriously. I get it now. I finished it in a matter of hours, stayed up until 1am and am now running on about 5 hours of sleep, but it was totally worth it. Now I’m going out to buy the sequel, Catching Fire. How can I possible wait until August for book 3?!?! :::Insert exasperated, throwing-up-of-the-hands, a la me at 13 years old:::

4 Responses to “This is not a “best of” list…”

  1. Greg Z December 8, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    Niiice! Thanks for the link. In exchange for me ordering and soon reading Lamb, I gotta insist that you move “This Is Where I Leave You” and “The Song Is You” up to the top of your list. Thank you, drive thru.

    • Rachel December 9, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

      Done! I’ll read them during my break between semesters — mostly cause I dying to know what you think of Lamb 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Await Your Reply « a home between the pages - January 7, 2010

    […] Your Reply January 7, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments Remember that post a few weeks ago where I said that I cannot put together a “Best of 2009″ list? If I had […]

  2. Giveaway: 100th Post « a home between the pages - July 13, 2010

    […] posts like my first one (remember First Line Fridays? Yeah I didn’t either apparently) and lists that were not lists, but I appreciate all of you old long-time readers and those of you that may […]

Leave a Reply

