nook love.

6 Jan

Meet my new boyfriend:

(sorry for the poor quality iPhone photos and the harsh glare on the screen.)

I was going to name him Snookums, but considering the rise of Jersey Shore and “Snookie,” I’m thinking not. Anyone have any suggestions?

He came in the mail last night, I went through the tutorial quickly and started reading almost immediately. It’s super easy to navigate, and my only not-favorite thing so far is that the page-turns are a little slow and have a weird “refresh” quality to them. I wish they simulated actual page-turning more. But I’m not saying anything new. Otherwise, I’m digging the nook a ton.

However, I need to vent a bit. I have gotten so much flack over this thing. You would have thought I started chucking my entire library into a fireplace and lit a match from some of the heat I’ve been taking for getting an eReader. Why is it that I’ve been called no less than a “hypocrite,” and a “traitor,” and someone actually said to me: “And you call yourself a book lover.”

Yes. I do. I AM a book lover. Why do you think I got the damn thing?? So I can read MORE!

By no means do I intend to replace my paper book library with eBooks. It’s just never going to happen. As someone who opens a new book and smells the pages (no lie), do you really think I can discard books so easily? I understand if an eReader doesn’t make sense for you — if you buy mostly mass market paperbacks or if you read mostly library books, yeah it wouldn’t make a lot of sense to get an eReader. But I love new releases, and I don’t use my library at all. I have no problem keeping multiple books going at the same time, so I can be in the middle of an eBook on my nook and also be reading an actual paper book elsewhere. If it doesn’t work for you, I understand. I won’t mock you, or insult you for it; so you shouldn’t do the same for me. It doesn’t work for you, but it works for me.

I’m still not sure how I’m going to integrate eBook reading into my everyday reading life. It’s going to make my purse a whole lot lighter, that’s for sure. But otherwise, I’m happy with my decision for a couple of really important reasons:

  1. The nook is compatible with PDFs. I printed literally a stack of PDF articles 5 inches thick last semester. I’m so excited to be able to do all of that reading digitally and not have to carry around pages that, let’s be frank, I’ll never read again after the class is over. Considering I’m planning on being in school for the next 32 months straight, I’ll take digital over paper anyday, especially since I can highlight those PDFs.
  2. I want to work in the Publishing industry. I’m starting a Master’s in Publishing in the fall (cross your fingers), and I try to stay current on trends in the field. Doesn’t this qualify? Whether we like it or not, eReaders and digital books are the future of the publishing world, and dragging your heels and insisting on the purity of paper books isn’t going to change that. It would be one thing if I was purely a book consumer, on the paying side of the register, but since I’d like to be on the other side, shouldn’t I be conscious of digital content and what makes a book successful in eBook format? It’s just like a journalist learning html and Web publishing so they can be competitive in their field.
  3. Many of the classics on my Must Read: Classics list are FREE or close to it in the Barnes & Noble eBook library. Umm hello, saving money. Come right in and have a seat.
  4. Speaking of saving money, I already mentioned that I buy a lot of new releases. That means a lot of hardcovers at $25 a pop. New eBooks are usually about $10. Twenty new release purchases on my nook instead of the hardcover and the eReader pays for itself. I buy significantly more than 20 hardcovers.

How does this NOT makes sense, at least for me? I don’t plan on trying to convert anyone else, this isn’t like Mormonism, people (sorry if you’re offended by that analogy, but it’s true). It works FOR ME. And that’s all that matters.

So leave me and my new boyfriend alone already.

P.S. If you can’t read it, the quote on my nook cover says: “A good book is the best of friends, the same today and forever. – Martin Tupper”

7 Responses to “nook love.”

  1. keepingyouawake January 6, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    I agree completely. I also love to feel the book and smell the pages (not directly, but as they reach me naturally) and the eBook is just another way. The same arguement could be held when buying a paperback over a hardback, right? But if you want it cheaper, and you can sacrifice that element, than you do it.

    A friend is interested deeply in the comic book industry and we’ve had this conversation many times. I love the way the book feels, he’s ready to move forward with things. This is just the way, I think.

  2. Stephanie Dellosa January 6, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    I loooove my iTouch, mostly because it is a fabulous, multi-functional e-reader. I’ve downloaded about 100 e-books, all free, mostly classics. And I’m helping the environment!

    • Rachel January 7, 2010 at 10:10 am #

      I have an iPhone and I tried to use the eReader on it, but the screen was just too small. But the environmental thing is a big plus as well. I love that I won’t be printing a forest worth of trees for school anymore.

  3. Alice January 7, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    i find it so weird that everyone is getting backlash for using these. SERIOUSLY, people? this is where you choose to give people a hard time?? for LIKING TO READ? except not liking to read in the same way you like to read? srsly.

    • Rachel January 7, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

      Isn’t it bizarre? There’s a study that shows that people who own eReaders actually read MORE then people that don’t. I don’t get it either.

  4. Malnurtured Snay January 8, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Yeah — I’m old school, I love seeing book spines on my shelves! Plus, y’know working in a book store, I’m afraid these things are going to be the death knell for the bookshop business (I know that’s not true, but I have my irrational fears). I don’t hate, it’s just going to take me some time to get used to the idea. It’ll be a while.

    • Rachel January 8, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      I totally understand where you’re coming from, especially since I come from a bookselling mind too. I love spines on my bookshelves too. Having an eReader doesn’t change that about me — I can like and own both. Just to play devil’s advocate, some might say that libraries are equally as damaging to bookstores, wouldn’t they? I mean if we’re really being honest? I think it’s possible to exist in both worlds — to love and own actual books and to own and read from an eReader.

Leave a Reply

