Three Birds = One Stone

28 Jan

I’ve blogged before how much I love travel reading, but cross country trips are the perfect way to hunker into a book and the perfect excuse to concentrate on one thing without the distractions that come with normal reading, like TV or Internet or whatnot. And long trips are great for one-sitting books. I got some serious travel reading in while flying to and from San Jose, CA for my uncle’s wedding this weekend. I flew all day Friday and all day Sunday (yes, that’s a quick turnaround I know, and I managed to get sick on the trip, but that’s neither here nor there) and managed to pack some serious reading into those trips. I did a little sleeping and some homework, but I also finished To Kill a Mockingbird, and started and finished Precious and When You Reach Me.

Lots of people have commented on the fact that I’d never read To Kill a Mockingbird before, that it was never assigned in school, but honestly, I’m really happy that it wasn’t because reading it now as an adult without it being forced upon me, I think I enjoyed and savored it so much more. What struck me is what a strong narrative voice Scout has, and how the intertwining story lines are connected through her eyes. I loved this, but I wasn’t expecting not to. If you haven’t read it yet (like me!) or haven’t read it in a while, its definitely a fast, fantastic book that’s worth a read (or re-read). It also is my first completed book for both the Gilmore Girls Challenge and my own Must Read: Classics challenge. Whoo Hoo!

Both Precious (or really, the novel’s original title is Push, which I like better after reading it) and When You Reach Me were phenomenal books, albeit extremely different. Precious is no less than heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time, and I’m still haunted by it. I was hoping to see the movie in theaters but it’s no longer playing near me at all. Sad face. (I’m in major Oscar prep mode right now and I’m trying to see as many potential nominees as possible before the March 1 awards). 

When You Reach Me  was also fantastic — as it should be since it just won the Newberry Award and it was also named as an ALA Best Book for Young Adults for 2010. It’s not at all what I was expecting when I picked it up, but it’s got enormous messages about friendship and fitting in and time travel. I know, right? Great characters and a great story line.

It was a highly productive trip if if I do say so myself.

Leave a Reply

