BookExpo America ’10

8 Feb

This time last year, I had never in my life heard of BookExpo America, otherwise known as BEA. But of course I didn’t know that it was “otherwise known as BEA” because I didn’t know it at all. Shocking, isn’t it?

Actually that’s not entirely true. I was aware, sort of, since BEA was held in DC in 2006. I was around, I guess, but I wasn’t really paying attention. At the time, I worked at Barnes & Noble and was trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my life, since I graduated the May before with a degree in a field I positively didn’t want to work in. Obviously, I was working in books, but who knew at the time that I would eventually want to make it part of my career in a more substantial and important way? I certainly didn’t.

This year though, I’d started seeing the buzz around BEA a few weeks ago from other book bloggers, many of whom attended last year in NYC. I checked out the BEA site and was immediately intrigued. Hold the phone! Hundreds of authors, dozens and dozens of publishers, hoards of fellow book lovers? Count me in! However, there was that small issue of ticket prices. Also, what category am I in? I’m technically an editor, but not an editor in the book world. I will be a publishing student but not at the time of the Expo. I wonder if I can just put my title as “bibliophile-at-large?”  Probably not.

And then :).

I found the Book Bloggers Convention.

Book Blogger Convention

Cue heavenly beams from the sky and cherubs singing gospel.

Okay not really, but it turns out that being a book blogger means that I quality for a FREE press pass for the entire three-day event. Seriously. Who knew? It also works out pretty well for me in terms of lodging. My cousin Becky will still be calling New York home in May, before she moves to Baltimore for med school at Johns Hopkins, so I can stay with her instead of spending a small fortune in hotel rooms.

But even with all the details seemingly falling into place, I was hesitant to go. I’ve only been blogging about books for 6 months — am I legit enough? Widely-read enough, to be considered “press”? Also, I’m really in a period of transition in terms of my role in the publishing industry. Yeah, I’ve got the blog, and eventually I’d like to move to the Big Apple and work, for real, in publishing. I’m in school for children’s lit, and in May, I will have just applied to the Publishing Master’s program here in DC. But I’d like to make some contacts that I can keep once I’m ready to make the move to NYC. Obviously going to BEA isn’t just about finding a job. After all, I’m staying in DC for at least another 2 years while I’m in school. I love meeting publishers and authors (even though I can be painfully shy/starstruck), and hopefully building an audience for this little corner of the bloggosphere. I feel so in limbo with my role in the book world right now, and I wondered seriously if I should just not bother until I’m in a better place.

After consulting a few people, including my mom who never fails to steer me wrong, I decided I’m just going to do it. I will never be in the perfect place, and I will always, always be in some sort of limbo. Pretty much everyone I talked to said, “Why WOULDN’T you go?” And I didn’t really have a good answer….

So…I’m going to BookExpo America ’10!!

And I’m incredibly excited. I’m still figuring out all my plans, but I know they will include a Broadway show, a visit to The Strand and to Books of Wonder, and I’m sure a dozen other things.

Okay so who else is going?? (I’m living and dying by the book blogger tour advice — and I’m already shopping for cute, comfortable shoes.)

4 Responses to “BookExpo America ’10”

  1. Kate February 8, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Great news! See you in May when you’re up for BEA, and I’ll take you on a little tour of RH if you’d like!

  2. galleysmith February 9, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    You should totally go! We’d love to see you at the Book Blogger Convention, part of the fun is getting to meet other bloggers no matter what age the blog they write for is. I hope you consider joining us 🙂

    • Rachel February 14, 2010 at 11:08 am #

      Oh it’s already done 🙂 I’ve sent my check and I’m officially coming to Book Blogger Convention. Now that I’ve made my plans, I want it to happen, like now! Can’t believe I have to wait 3 months!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention BookExpo America ‘10 « a home between the pages -- Topsy.com - February 8, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rachel M., bookbloggercon. bookbloggercon said: .@homebtwnpages calls #bookblogcon"cue heavenly beams from sky & cherubs singing gospel" That's how we feel too! http://tinyurl.com/yjnoy9s […]

Leave a Reply

