Did you hear?

12 Feb

I may or may not have been snowed in the last few days. And by may or may not, I mean that I definitely was, and by last night, I was starting to go a little bit stir crazy. A ton of people in the DC area (like my dad — grumble, grumble) were off of work all week, except today, because of the double helping of snow we got. I trudged my way into the office — a surprisingly easy 45 minute commute thanks to Maryland’s superb effort to clear the roads — on Monday and Tuesday, but it was clear by Wednesday morning that there was no way I was getting out my driveway, let alone my neighborhood. So even though my office was open and running, I took a couple of snow days.

I wish I could say that I spent them reading my face off, but it just didn’t happen. It would have been the perfect time to catch up on my non-school reading, but I just wasn’t in the mood. Can you imagine?? Not in the mood to read? I know, I know. But this girl couldn’t get in book mode. I don’t know if it was feeling overwhelmed with the sheer number of books on my shelves that I wanted to read and not being able to pick my next one, or if it was guilt that I wasn’t doing school work, or purely the fact that I’m slightly burned out, but whatever it was, I spent the last two days watching movies and NOT reading. It wasn’t entirely unproductive, as I’m in my big Oscar watch season (goal: watch as many of the Oscar-nominated movies as possible) and I watched four nominated films. Bright Star, District 9, Coraline and The Cove, if you’re interested.

It wasn’t until last night that I thought about picking up a book. And the one I did pick up? Wolf Hall, the 2009 Man Booker prize winner by Hilary Mantel. So far it’s a great read, but its hard not to approach it with the “history” of The Other Boleyn Girl in my mind. I’d love to approach this with a clean slate, but I suppose we never read any book without some preconception or knowledge of the subject matter beforehand. I’m loving Mantel’s sentence construction and the poetic nature of her word choices so much that I’d like to really slow down and enjoy it. I’m afraid though that if I do that, I’ll never finish the book, because I’m squeezing the reading between all the schoolwork I have to do instead.

When really, I’d prefer to curl up with the Tudor-themed novel with nothing else on my mind. Alas, more school work beckons this weekend. Hopefully, I’ll be able to squeeze in a little bit of Thomas Cromwell, Cardinal Wosely and Henry VII. There’s nothing like a guy with six wives to make me feel better about being single this Valentine’s Day :).

2 Responses to “Did you hear?”

  1. Lenore February 14, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    I try to watch the Oscar nommed films before the Oscars too, but I am not doing so well so far this year. 4/10 BP, 0/5 Best Actor, 1/5 Best S. Actor, 0/10 Actress!!!

    Will probably see: Up the Air, Invictus, Crazy Heart, The Last Station, and An Education before the awards…

    Oh, and I look forward to meeting you at BEA!

    • Rachel February 14, 2010 at 11:20 am #

      Crazy Heart and An Education were phenomenal! I’m really crossing my fingers for Jeff Bridges to take Best Actor on that one. He absolutely deserves it.

      I’m doing pretty well with my Oscar watch: 8/10 BP, 4/5 Best Actor, 1/5 Best S. Actor, 4/5 Best Actress, and 4/5 Best S. Actress. I’m expecting Inglourious Basterds and A Serious Man from Netflix any day now, so I think it’ll be the first year ever that I’ve seen all the Best Picture noms — and in a year with 10!! I’m not quite sure how I’ve pulled it off…

      Will definitely see you at BEA!

Leave a Reply

