The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

8 Mar

First of all, my apologies for being slightly MIA lately. You know, real life and all. That and a good book have the potential to really distract from the blog. Well I’ve had both!

I got a giant box of books in the mail last week from that giant wish list I posted a few weeks ago and trying to decide what to read first was mind-boggling! Just based purely on the buzz, I ended up picking up The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and so far, it has NOT disappointed. Normally, I go either way on non-fiction like this, especially medical-based non-fiction. I have zero science background and sometimes the writing goes way over my head. But Rebecca Skloot has done a great job of both simplifying the science in a way that makes it easy to understand but also still manages to convey the historical significance and gravity of the situation. She also puts the human face on that science and makes the whole story relatable and heartbreaking.

I’m about half-way done, and I have to admit that it’s difficult not to secretly read The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks under my desk when I should be working. Skloot has done a great job, and I’m looking forward to finishing the book and posting a more complete review.

Leave a Reply

