It’s official!

26 Apr

I’m going to be a Master’s student starting in the Fall!

If you’re not following me on Twitter (@homebtwnpages — go Follow!), you may not have heard the good news yet. But last week, I got the official Offer of Admission to George Washington University’s College of Professional Studies Master’s in Publishing program.  I’m absurdly excited, and I was browsing the classes that I can take over the next two years and, in my head, I was thinking, “Wait, I can’t take ALL of these?? You mean I have to pick?? I don’t WANNA!” I literally want to take every single class offered, even in those tracks I’m not all that pumped about — like technology. Blegh.

My parents took me out on Friday to celebrate, but this weekend was filled with FAFSA applications and loan research. Oh and paying tuition for my Summer semester of Children’s Lit classes. No rest for the weary I suppose, but I did manage to squeeze in a fantastic massage and facial on Saturday morning, which did wonders for my stress level.

As did a couple of games of Scrabble on Sunday with my parents. I lost miserably in the first game, and 12 hours later, tied my dad for first in the second game. (We did do other things between those two games, I swear. It doesn’t take us all day to play one round). We were inspired by this all-too-familiar article in Parade (does anyone else still get an actual paper delivered to them? I think my parents might be the only ones).

I also tried to read a bit more of Let the Great World Spin. I’m not sure what’s wrong with me, because I was so excited when my Spring classes ended to have more time to read the books I’ve had to put on the back burner. But now, I seem to be unenthused about any kind of reading. I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve been catching up on my DVR and Netflix queues instead of reading. Perhaps reading burnout is more wide-spread this time, and I’m tired of reading anything. Let’s hope I snap out of it soon. I’m dying to finish LTGWS, and move onto The Help and Wolf Hall. I also think part of the problem is that I’m not feeling that engaged by LTGWS. It’s beautifully written and I love the portrait of New York in the 70s that McCann is painting, but it’s not a page-turner. And maybe that’s what I need right now.

And in other, totally unrelated news, the countdown is on for Book Expo America ’10! A month to go, and I’m already freaking out about all the things I want to do every day and how I’m never going to get it together in time. Anyone else having this issue? So much to do, Web site too confusing to figure out how to plan it all?

One Response to “It’s official!”

  1. Carol April 27, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    Congrats on grad school. I’m excited for you.

Leave a Reply

