Letters, Damn Letters, and Giveaways

10 Jun

Lori over at The Next Best Book Blog is hosting what I think is one of the coolest and most creative giveaways I’ve seen in a long time. She’s giving away 5 copies of the short story collection What He’s Poised To Do by Ben Greenman that uses letters as a central method of storytelling and focuses on that lost art of letter writing. I know I certainly love getting letters (real mail!!) but I’m terrible at sending them myself. With that in mind, Lori is asking people to contribute to the Letters with Character project here and then repost your letters to her blog comments for the chance at winning one of these five copies of the book.

I’ve actually had the thought before that I wondered what some of my favorite literary heroines would Tweet, but that’s a project for a different day. This is about classic, long-forgotten communication. But not necessarily looooong communication. For example, to Elizabeth Darcy (of Pride and Prejudice, duh), I would write (in language she understood):

Dear Friend,

I know we don’t know each other, or rather you don’t know me, but I feel as though I’m well acquainted with you. I want very much to admire you and praise you and love you unconditionally, like so many others do, but my affection for you is half-hearted. I do love your story, your love story if you will; your pig-headedness, along with your husband’s, reminds me quite a bit of my own at times, but if I could be so bold as to ask: what happened next? After a lovely courtship/disdain-ship, in which you professed so profusely your desire to marry for no one but yourself, with no thought but love, there seems to be no marriage. You marry and that’s it? I want to know what the rest of life is like for Mr. and Mrs. Darcy. I hope there are no zombies in your version.

Affectionately yours,

R.

Or to Matilda from Roald Dahl, I would simply write:

Hey Tilly,

Can I call you Tilly? Probably not. You’re much too smart to be taken seriously with a name like Tilly. So Matilda it is. You. Are. Awesome. You made me love books. You made me love learning. You made me love tormenting my teachers. Of course I could never do it as stylishly as you, but who could? This is just a note to let you know that I’m a huge fan. Always have been, always will be.

Always,

Rach

Or to The Cat in the Hat:

You wouldn’t really expect me to tell my mother. Would you?

See? So much fun :).

Who would you write to? Don’t tell me here!! I’m over at TNBCC posting my letters now, and you should be too.

One Response to “Letters, Damn Letters, and Giveaways”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Letters, Damn Letters, and Giveaways « a home between the pages -- Topsy.com - June 11, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by TNBBC, Rachel M.. Rachel M. said: Letters, Damn Letters, and Giveaways: http://wp.me/pzJR6-72 […]

Leave a Reply

