NYC/BEA/BBC Wrap-Up, Part 2

10 Jun

Apologies for the delay in this posting. Sometimes real life has a way of stopping blogging in its tracks.

Let’s see, where did we leave off?

Oh yes! Scholastic! So after a very busy morning, we headed over to the Scholastic offices in Soho and managed to squeeze in some lunch before the tour.

(Photo: Scouting NY)

Where there were only a few of us on the morning tours at Picador and Bloomsbury, we had a CROWD at Scholastic. I suppose that’s to be expected with the number of YA bloggers out there, but I was kind of surprised at the number of awesome bloggers on this visit. I think there were upwards of 20 people and to ease the congestion in the halls, we split up a bit. First stop was to the sub-basement to the archives, where Scholastic keeps two copies of every book they’ve published. Ever. Which produced, in the gaggle of bloggers, a muted hush at first, and then a steady hum of excitement. For me personally, I walked down one aisle and pretty much relived my late elementary school reading life. Since they catalog by ISBN, the shelves are chronologically organized. That means that all of the Baby-Sitters Club books I read in 5th and 6th grade were all together, along with several of my absolutely favorite middle readers, all in one place. I could have planted myself in the stacks for days and re-read all my first favorite books. And I know I wouldn’t have been the only one to do so in that crowd.

After the archives, the lovely publicists took us on a tour that involved several floors, several book giveaways, several departments, and two authors: Rick Riordan (who was very sweet to take time out of signing piles and piles of books to say hello) and Aimee Friedman (who is also an editor at Scholastic and talked to us for quite a while about how she started writing and how she balances her two careers). It was such a whirlwind visit, but so much fun. I was so caught up that I didn’t even take any pictures. However, we did get a group shot of all the bloggers and Aimee Friedman on the building’s roof terrace. I pulled this from the Scholastic blog (that’s me on the top row, fifth from the left):

Scholastic was also sweet enough to give us a few books, and a coupon for the Scholastic store on the first floor, with which I bought a copy of Countdown by Deborah Wiles. I’d heard lots of good things about this middle reader and since it’s set in DC, I just had to get a copy. And since it takes place in the 60s, Deborah Wiles’ website links to her iTunes iMix of music for inspiration. Love it!

After leaving the Soho offices, I met my mom and we hung out in Washington Square Park so I could put on some flip flops (already my feet were hurting!) and decompress. She’d gotten some incredible cannoli from a bakery in Greenwich Village — I don’t remember what the name was, but oh my goodness was that amazing cannoli. Great way to reenergize to explore the Village. We stopped at a great bookstore called bookbook where I managed to not buy anything but a copy of Tinkers since I’ve not been able to find it anywhere in DC. Then we browsed an old school record store and I lusted over a couple of $75+ recordings of live Beatles concerts, before we hit up a pizza place and ate a couple of slices in a park. It was a fantastic NYC kind of evening, before jumping in a cab (I had a lot of books!) and heading back to our hotel downtown. We made it an early night; we stayed in and watched Shutter Island, since we both had to be up early — me for the first day of BEA and her for an early train back to DC. To top it off, she took all the books I’d gotten at the publishing house tours back home with her. All 20 of them. Her suitcase was soooo heavy, but she was a trooper and lugged it home.

 Next time: BEA!! Finally!

One Response to “NYC/BEA/BBC Wrap-Up, Part 2”

  1. Gabby June 10, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    Hey Rachel, followed you over from FB. Just had to comment on the BSC books… I still have all of my copies. LOL and when I need to go back to the days when it was all so easy, I break one out. I have #1-120-smthng I think boxed up somewhere.

Leave a Reply

