Summer Lovin’ – Books for 2010

21 Jun

Since today marks the official beginning of summer, I thought I’d run through my list of books I would love to read this summer. I’d love to say that these are going to get read, but you know that cliche, “The best laid plans…” Yeah, I have a feeling that will be me this summer. Anywho, these are the books, both old and new that I’d read — if I didn’t have to work or go to class or even sleep:

                  

Okay, slightly ambitious, especially since I’m also in school full-time this summer, but there are just so many good books out there. There’s also a great variation, so I definitely won’t get bored. What’s on your list for summer reading?

(For those of you that can’t see the images:
Anthropology of an American Girl by Hilary Thayer Hamann
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
Matterhorn: A Novel of the Vietnam War by Karl Marlantes
War by Sebastian Junger
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Kapitoil (P.S.) by Teddy Wayne
Viola in Reel Life by Adriana Trigiani
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Faithful Place by Tana French
My Name Is Memory by Ann Brashares
East of Eden by John Steinbeck (Gilmore Girls Challenge book)
Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson
The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides (Gilmore Girls Challenge book)
The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas
The One That I Want by Allison Winn Scotch
Atonement by Ian McEwan (Gilmore Girls Challenge book)
Room by Emma Donoghue)

Note:  I will receive a tiny percentage of any money you spend by clicking on the book covers or the titles. Any books that you buy will support the running and maintenance of this blog, through Powell’s Partner program.

10 Responses to “Summer Lovin’ – Books for 2010”

  1. Alice June 21, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    the only one of those i’ve read is the virgin suicides, and while it was many many moons ago, i believe i liked it quite a bit.. 🙂

  2. diane June 21, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    so many of the books you featured look good. Loved Particular Sasdness of Lemon Cake :0

  3. Lusty Reader June 22, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    im 48th on the arlington library holds list for The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake. not in love with the title, but just found out about “magical realism” books after reading Sarah Allen Addison and want to glom more!

  4. Greg Zimmerman June 22, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    I can’t decide whether the Egan book sounds good or not. The Keep was one of the most beguiling pieces of fiction I’ve ever read, and her new one sounds equally strange/unique/creative? Looking forward to hearing your take on it…

    • Rachel June 22, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

      I saw her at BEA, and I wasn’t totally convinced either, but I’ve been seeing so many glowing reviews that it sounds like something I want to at least take a whack at. I haven’t read The Keep, but I do have it on Audiobook (hence the reason I haven’t read it yet — hard to get motivated for that).

  5. bermudaonion June 26, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Great list of books! I don’t usually make reading lists, since I just can’t seem to complete them. I get distracted by shiny new books.

  6. Stephanie June 29, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    You have got a great list–many of which are on my list too!

  7. LiLu June 30, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    YES YES YES to Suzanne Collins! They’re SO GOOD! I have the third one coming to me the second it’s released!

    • Rachel June 30, 2010 at 9:44 am #

      Gah! I know! I’m totally Team Gale. I want to re-read the first two before Mockingjay, which will take like 2 minutes, I’m sure.

      Thanks for stopping by 😉 Smooches!

  8. C_Girl July 27, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    This is such a great list! I’m a little obsessed with a couple of these titles, namely the Tana French and the Collins. I’m a bog fan of Jennifer Egan too; can’t wait to read her new one. Alas, I could never manage to get into Atonement, which I’m pretty sure makes me a bad person.

    Have you tackled Anthropology of an American Girl? I’d like to talk to someone else who has read it so I can rant about how much I hated it.

Leave a Reply

