Bad Things

6 Jul

Beth Fish Reads reviewed Harry Dolan’s Bad Things Happen yesterday, and there was a fantastic quote from the book that I just had to share:

It’s not like people go to school for it. No one sets out to be an editor. It’s something that happens to you, like jaundice or falling down a well.

As I’m an editor in the real world, you can see why I would love it. 🙂

5 Responses to “Bad Things”

  1. Greg Zimmerman July 6, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    Awesome. I feel very similarly.

    Along those lines, jokey joke time…

    Q: What’s usually the next thing someone says to you after explaining that they’d majored in English?

    A: Do you want fries with that?

    Buzzzz….

    • Rachel July 6, 2010 at 10:57 am #

      Bada bum.

      Funny 😉

  2. Life of a Doctor's Wife July 6, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Ha! I fell into editing, that’s for sure! But I love it. There’s something so satisfying about taking a raw piece of copy and transforming it into something better.

    The one thing I hate is that it affects my leisure reading. Sometimes I get bogged down in how I’d rephrase a sentence, when, clearly, thinking about it will do no one any good!

    • Rachel July 12, 2010 at 9:19 am #

      I completely agree. I find it very similar to the way I can’t go to a pool or the ocean anymore without watching the water and yelling at kids to stop running, becaues I was a lifeguard for 7 years.

  3. Beth F July 8, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    I loved that quote too!

Leave a Reply

