Stacks and Stacks

7 Jul

Welcome to all my new followers! Poke around, see whatcha find, but be careful. Some of those bookcases are a little overloaded, and the stacks are likely to tip. If you get lost, send up a flare.  Also there’s some big happenings around here, check the end of the post for more details!

I’ve been intending to write this post for awhile, like oh, since I got back from BEA, but you know, it was just a lot of work, what with stacking the books just so, and taking the pictures and then, ugh, uploading them. Kidding, of course. I just fail at planning ahead. But never fear! Lovely stacks of books from BEA, most of which are not suffering from extreme glare issues.

There’s a quite a selection here, but there are a few on this list that I’m particularly excited for. I’ve talked about the Buzz books I’m psyched for like Room by Emma Donoghue and obviously my glee for The Passage cannot be denied. (Speaking of which, Powell’s is giving away a signed first edition of The Passage. You can enter here: http://wfi.re/1hoga). But there are a few others on this list that I’m also really excited for.

  1. Peep Show by Josha Braff (yes, the brother of Zach Braff). Published last month by possibly my favorite imprint, Algonquin, this one caught my eye since I adored his first novel, The Unthinkable Thoughts of Jacob Green. It follows a teenager in the 70s who must choose between helping his ailing father in the Times Square adult theater business (hence the title of the book) and his mother’s growing Hasidic faith. Sounds like a fantastic read, and a story that I’ve never seen before, for sure. Plus Algonquin rarely disappoints, so I’m looking forward to this one.
  2. The Wrong Blood by Manuel De Lope. I picked this up completely by accident in the Random House booth (Other Press, a RH imprint, is the publisher) and thought it sounded good just from the blurbs on the back cover. But then I started to see it popping up in lots of places, like Trish at Hey Lady featured it in her “Peeing My Pants” series, and then yesterday morning it showed up in The Pass’ Fall Preview Supplement. Seems I’m not the only one excited for this book.
  3. Sunset Park by Paul Auster. Sad to say, my experience with Auster’s work is extremely lacking. His The New York Trilogy is one of those that I can’t believe I haven’t picked up yet, and I bought Invisible for my dad last year, with the full intention of reading it myself. I hasn’t happened yet, but Auster’s new book is coming out in November and I fully intend to get to it before it goes into paperback ;). I’m mostly kidding, but I am excited for this book.
  4. Mr Toppit by Charles Elton. Another Other Press find that I didn’t intend to get, but which I’ve now heard great things about. Other Press’s Web site has this to say: “Spanning several decades, from the heyday of the postwar British film industry to today’s cutthroat world of show business in Los Angeles, Mr. Toppit is a riveting debut novel that captures an extraordinary family and their tragic brush with fame to wonderfully funny and painful effect.”  Originally released in 2009 in the UK, the reviews have praised the “pitch-black humor.”  The U.S. version will be released in November. 

There are so many fantastic books in these stacks though, it’s hard to know when I’m going to find the time to read them all! Ohh look more!! Anything in these that you like? (I am still in the process of updating my Goodreads to reflect the aquisition of these books, along with the books I got at ALA here in DC a few weekends ago.)

A couple other pieces of news that I mentioned at the beginning of this post: I’m quickly approaching both my one-year anniversary on this blog, and my 100th post. I think that calls for some giveaways, don’t you?? Keep an eye out later this week for the details.

Also, I don’t make it a habit to make shoutouts, but my girl Lilu is up for the job of a lifetime as MTV’s first TJ (that’s Twitter V-jay) and needs some votes to make it happen. Voting starts at 11am today, you can vote on Facebook here: http://facebook.com/zync. Go do it. She’s the bomb, and she likes books. So yay for that 🙂

6 Responses to “Stacks and Stacks”

  1. Judith July 8, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    What a find to discover your book blog today! Thanks to Bibliophiliac, I believe.

    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

    • Rachel July 12, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      Thanks for stopping by, Judith!

  2. Kerry July 9, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Wow, great haul! I didn’t realize Paul Auster had a new book out. I had never read New York Trilogy either, until my boss gave it to me as a moving-out-of-NYC present, and I’m two stories through and loving it so far!

    I also LOVE LOVE LOVED Mr Toppit. Did you get the WHO IS MR TOPPIT umbrella, too?

    And lastly, I also got a copy of Packing for Mars which I am tres excited about. I’ve always loved Roach’s books.

    • Rachel July 12, 2010 at 9:14 am #

      I just saw your reviews of Mr. Toppit (THERE WAS AN UMBRELLA????) and that you got Packing for Mars. I got the new Auster from a publicist at Picador, who pushed it into my hands and said, “You HAVE to read this!” But I definitely want to read the NY trilogy as well.

  3. Amanda July 11, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    I am definitely coveting your copy of Delirium! That’s one I didn’t find at BEA.

    • Rachel July 12, 2010 at 9:17 am #

      And I’m totally coveting your copy of Salvation City — so we’re even 😉

Leave a Reply

