Planning fail.

16 Aug

So. Um. Remember that read-a-thon I was supposed to participate in?

Who wants to take bets on whether that happened? I’ll give you a hint: it was my first free weekend since finishing classes for the semester. My friends also have been putting off plans until I was done. So? Any guesses?

Yeah, it was a bit of a read-a-thon fail. But I had a bit of a good reason. Two, in fact.

I’d intended to read most of Saturday and most of Sunday. But.

Friday night on my way home from work on the Metro, I had my iPhone stolen. Right out of my hands. A total snatch-and-grab job, and I was pretty devestated. Not because of the phone itself, but because of the theft. The kid that stole it grabbed my hand in the process and it makes my stomach churn thinking about that violation. I picked up a new temporary 3GS phone yesterday, and I just need to locate an Apple store that actually has an iPhone 4 in stock.

So Friday night, I stayed at a friends house with a couple other girls (Love adult slumber parties!) and in my misery, I probably drank a few too many glasses of wine. Or bottles. But whatever. Saturday, poor Saturday, when I intended to curl up with a good book left me recovering from that wine in bed, with not much energy beyond that required to change channels on the TV. That and occasionally sit up to sip some water. Which is where Reason #2 comes into play.

I was hanging out in bed with my good friends Padma and Tom and ran downstairs to check my email — SINCE I WAS WITHOUT A PHONE TO DO SO FROM MY BED — and when I came back, not 5 minutes later, I crawled into bed and reached for my water glass. I felt a sharp sting on the tip of my pointer finger, and looked at the glass and saw a huge wasp hanging out. On the rim of the glass. I managed to trap the little sucker in the water glass and flushed him quickly. But my hand started swelling, and swelling fast. Couple that with the existing hangover headache and rumbly tumbly, I was not a happy camper. Enter: two Benadryl. Followed quickly by a Benadryl-induced coma. For five hours.

I woke up long enough to eat some dinner and was back in bed by 8pm. My hand is a nice, normal size again, but the finger itself is angry and a bit swollen and red and itchy. Which, let me tell you, is making typing slightly difficult.

Sunday, which was intended to be my “make-up for Saturday’s lack of reading” day, was spent at brunch with friends. Service was terrible though so what should have been an hour and half long meal, turned out closer to 2 1/2 hours. After which, I had to brave the mall and the Apple store, which was an adventure inofitself. After I got my new temporary phone, I drove home. Which put me at home at 7pm. Which meant cooking dinner. And family time. And then it was time for bed.

So yeah, this weekend was an utter read-a-thon failure. And any reading I did do didn’t fit the theme of the read-a-thon, which was to read your own books. I read a library book, that was getting ready to be due.

Maybe I’ll just have to reschedule and do my own read-a-thon. Now to find a weekend that’s free…

5 Responses to “Planning fail.”

  1. Sarah August 16, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    I’m sorry you had to deal with so many nasty events over the weekend. I can’t believe he just grabbed the phone out of your hand; I would be sketched out by that, too. I hope your thumb starts feeling better soon, and that you’ll have the opportunity to do as much reading as you want!

  2. Mayowa August 16, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Ouch,

    Sounds like a mighty rough weekend maam. Not to worry though, Monday is here…wait thats not any better is it?

    Glad your hand is back to normal and I hope it all ends peachy.

  3. Malnurtured Snay August 16, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Sucks about the phone! I usually nap on the Metro on my way back into DC, but if I am awake enough to do something productive, I generally just read a book. So far, no one has wanted to steal my worn, battered copy of Arthur Rex. Alas.

  4. Carol August 16, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Sorry your weekend was so tough. Hope you’re finger’s feeling better.

  5. Nora August 17, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I hate instect stings! I’m so allergic to them so it takes forever for them to heal; I have turned to cortisone cream numerous times.

    Still so sorry about the iPhone situation. I can’t believe those kids just took it. (Well I can, but it so annoys me.)

Leave a Reply

