TBR List + Giveaway #2: Brick Lane & The Shadow of the Wind

16 Sep

I know that a lot of us are guilty of letting the TBR (that’s To-Be-Read) list get out of control. I may be the worst offender. Because 9 out of 10 times, a book is on my TBR list because I’ve purchased it. Such a problem, especially when you consider the fact that my Goodreads “To Read” list is 677 books strong. And sadly growing. Occasionally, I find a book in the midst of all that mess (because have you ever tried to organize that many books?? It’s impossible!) that, low-and-behold, I already own. It’s happened before, usually with a hardcover and a paperback, but in culling through my bookshelves a few months ago, I realized I had multiple copies of the same paperbacks. I say this, with my head hanging low, slightly embarrassed, but also with a grin, because it means I have duplicates. Duplicates I’m GIVING AWAY.

I also have to say, before we get to the giveaway details, that today’s BBAW topic is about Forgotten Treasures. How great is it that I feel like I’m discovering Forgotten Treasures every time I look at my bookshelves? To purchase a book more than once means I must really be drawn to it, a treasure I want to keep finding, again and again. Okay enough waxing poetic about my inability to keep accurate records of what I own.

Time for some free books!

Today, I’m going foreign. I’ve got one copy of Brick Lane by Monica Ali and one copy of The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon to give away.

 Brick Lane – Publisher’s synopsis:

After an arranged marriage to Chanu, a man twenty years older, Nazneen is taken to London, leaving her home and heart in the Bangladeshi village where she was born. Her new world is full of mysteries. How can she cross the road without being hit by a car (an operation akin to dodging raindrops in the monsoon)? What is the secret of her bullying neighbor Mrs. Islam? What is a Hell’s Angel? And how must she comfort the naÏve and disillusioned Chanu?As a good Muslim girl, Nazneen struggles to not question why things happen. She submits, as she must, to Fate and devotes herself to her husband and daughters. Yet to her amazement, she begins an affair with a handsome young radical, and her erotic awakening throws her old certainties into chaos.

Monica Ali’s splendid novel is about journeys both external and internal, where the marvellous and the terrifying spiral together.

 

 The Shadow of the Wind – Publisher’s synopsis:

Barcelona, 1945 — just after the war, a great world city lies in shadow, nursing its wounds, and a boy named Daniel awakes on his eleventh birthday to find that he can no longer remember his mother’s face. To console his only child, Daniel’s widowed father, an antiquarian book dealer, initiates him into the secret of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books, a library tended by Barcelona’s guild of rare-book dealers as a repository for books forgotten by the world, waiting for someone who will care about them again. Daniel’s father coaxes him to choose a volume from the spiraling labyrinth of shelves, one that, it is said, will have a special meaning for him. And Daniel so loves the novel he selects, The Shadow of the Wind by one Julian Carax, that he sets out to find the rest of Carax’s work. To his shock, he discovers that someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book this author has written. In fact, he may have the last one in existence. Before Daniel knows it his seemingly innocent quest has opened a door into one of Barcelona’s darkest secrets, an epic story of murder, magic, madness and doomed love. And before long he realizes that if he doesn’t find out the truth about Julian Carax, he and those closest to him will suffer horribly.

I’ll be giving each of these books away separately. Here’s how it works:

  1. Leave a comment,
  2. with your name,
  3. and your preference of book (must pick one),
  4. and a valid email.
  5. For an extra entry, tweet the contest and include my Twitter handle, @homebtwnpages in the tweet, and the permalink to the tweet in your comment.

This is open for U.S. entries only. I’ll pick the winners next Thursday, September 23.

Also, if these don’t tickle your fancy, have you checked out my giveaway in yesterday’s post? And stay tuned for two more giveaways tomorrow!!

24 Responses to “TBR List + Giveaway #2: Brick Lane & The Shadow of the Wind”

  1. Lydia (The Lost Entwife) September 16, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    I have this problem as well – but I own an e-copy of SoTW and would love a print copy!

    Lydia Presley
    Benz1966 at gmail.com

  2. Nora September 16, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Who doesn’t love book giveaways!
    You know my name and I think you have my email address; I’d pick the first book since I’ve already Shadow of the Wind and LOVED IT!

  3. Megan September 16, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    I have the exact sme problems with books! Last time I culled my book shelves I also found duplicates. I live on a busy city street so I leave a stack outside my door with a “Free Books” sign, so now my neighbors are enjoying them!

    Shadow of the Wind please!

  4. Jo-Jo September 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    I think I would love to read both of these, but please enter me for Brick Lane.
    joannelong74 AT gmail DOT com

  5. Wendy September 16, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    I would love SOTW!! I’ve heard so many good reviews.

  6. Briana (The Book Pixie) September 16, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    I have been dying to read The Shadow of the Wind so definitely count me in for that one! Thanks for the great giveaway! 😀

    ~Briana

  7. emily l September 16, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    My nme is Emily and I would love to read Brick Lane. Thanks!

    misusedinnocence@aol.com

  8. Julie H. September 16, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    I would be interested in Shadow of the Wind. They both look good.
    Thanks!
    JHolden955(at)gmail(dot)com

  9. Arceli September 16, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    Please enter me for Brick Lane. Thanks!

    a(dot)long(at)tcu(dot)edu

  10. bermudaonion September 17, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    I would love to be entered for The Shadow of the Wind. milou2ster(at)gmail.com

  11. Kaye September 17, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Please enter me in the drawing for Brick Lane. That’s been on my wish list forever. I hear you about the GR tbr list! lol

  12. oh September 17, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Mmmmmm….tough choice, and I have just given my TBR “shelves” an overhaul so I know what you’re talking about.
    Anyway, based on Nor’s raving about it, I would love SHADOW OF THE WIND!
    Diana at diloscialeATcharterDOTnet

  13. Sue September 17, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    I’d love a chance to win Shadow of the Wind! Thanks for the giveaway.

    s.mickelson at gmail dot com

  14. nicole langan September 17, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Brick Lane is my choice, Thanks!

  15. Ellie September 17, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    I would love to be in the contest for Shadow of the Wind! Thanks for the generous giveaway and the chance to win.
    ~Ellie
    lemonandrose gmail

  16. Word Lily September 17, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    I’d love to win Brick Lane. WordLily AT gmail DOT com

  17. Melissa R. September 17, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    Argh! I so want to read both of them. Ok I’ll go with the Shadow of the Wind

    giveawaymommy at yahoo.com

  18. Elise September 17, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    Elise
    caliblue7 at gmail dot com
    I’ll go with brick lane.

    thanks for the giveaway

  19. Amy September 17, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    Oh, I would like either book, but I think I’ll go with Brick Lane!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Amy S.
    artsyrockerchick at aim dot com

  20. Linda Kish September 18, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    The Shadow of the Wind

    Thanks for the chance to win.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  21. Amber Stults September 18, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    I appreciate the opportunity to win The Shadow of the Wind. It’s one I’ve been meaning to pick up but keep forgetting to.
    Thanks!
    Amber

    amber at amberstults dot com

  22. Kristi H. September 18, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    I have really been reading a lot of books set in the 40’s lately. Would love to add The Shadow of the Wind to that list!

    Kristi

    kherbrand at comcast dot net

  23. Heather Henderson September 20, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Both these books look awesome but my first choice would have to be Brick Lane it looks so scandelous.
    hmhenderson AT yahoo DOT com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BBAW Giveaway #3: The Secret of Lost Things & The Art of Racing in The Rain « a home between the pages - September 17, 2010

    […] entered the two giveaways earlier this week. Missed ‘em? The first is for Come Sunday and the second is for a shot to win The Shadow of the Wind or Brick […]

Leave a Reply

