BBAW Giveaway #3: The Secret of Lost Things & The Art of Racing in The Rain

17 Sep

I didn’t realize that the titles of the two books in this giveaway are grammatically similar until just now when I was typing the blog title. But! I like how it worked out. So this giveaway is called the “The ______ of ______” giveaway. I’ve got a copy of each of the following books to give away to you lovely readers: The Secret of Lost Things by Sheridan Hay and The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. This can also be considered a giveaway of books about two of my favorite things: books and dogs. The first is Hay’s book that is set in a bookstore. I know. Right?

The Secret of Lost Things – Publisher’s description:

In this charming novel about the eccentricities and passions of booksellers and collectors, a captivating young Australian woman takes a job at a vast, chaotic emporium of used and rare books in New York City and finds herself caught up in the search for a lost Melville manuscript.

Eighteen years old and completely alone, Rosemary arrives in New York from Tasmania with little more than her love of books and an eagerness to explore the city she’s read so much about. She begins her memorable search for independence with appealing enthusiasm, and the moment she steps into the Arcade bookstore, she knows she has found a home. The gruff owner, Mr. Pike, gives her a job sorting through huge piles of books and helping the rest of the staff — a group as odd and idiosyncratic as the characters in a Dickens novel. There’s Pearl, the loving, motherly transsexual who runs the cash register; Oscar, who organizes the nonfiction section and shares his extensive, eclectic knowledge with Rosemary, but furiously rejects her attempts at a more personal relationship; and Arthur Pick, who supervises the art section and demonstrates a particular interest in photography books featuring naked men.

The store manager, Walter Geist, is an albino, a lonely figure even within the world of the Arcade. When Walter’s eyesight begins to fail, Rosemary becomes his assistant. And so it is Rosemary who first reads the letter from someone seeking to “place” a lost manuscript by Herman Melville. Mentioned in Melville’s personal correspondence but never published, the work is of inestimable value, and proof of its existence brings the simmering ambitions and rivalries of the Arcade staff to a boiling point.

Including actual correspondence by Melville, The Secret of Lost Things is at once a literary adventure that captures the excitement of discovering a long-lost manuscript by a towering American writer and an evocative portrait of life in a surprisingly colorful bookstore.

The second book of the pair is one of my absolute favorites. It’s one of those books that I give to everyone. And if I don’t give it to you personally, I insist that you buy it for yourself. I’m thrilled to be able to give a copy of The Art of Racing in the Rain. If you don’t win this book, you MUST buy a copy of this for yourself.

The Art of Racing in the Rain – Publisher’s description:

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.Through Denny, Enzo has gained tremendous insight into the human condition, and he sees that life, like racing, isn’t simply about going fast. Using the techniques needed on the race track, one can successfully navigate all of life’s ordeals.

On the eve of his death, Enzo takes stock of his life, recalling all that he and his family have been through: the sacrifices Denny has made to succeed professionally; the unexpected loss of Eve, Denny’s wife; the three-year battle over their daughter, Zoe, whose maternal grandparents pulled every string to gain custody. In the end, despite what he sees as his own limitations, Enzo comes through heroically to preserve the Swift family, holding in his heart the dream that Denny will become a racing champion with Zoe at his side. Having learned what it takes to be a compassionate and successful person, the wise canine can barely wait until his next lifetime, when he is sure he will return as a man.

A heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope, The Art of Racing in the Rain is a beautifully crafted and captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

I’ll be giving each of these books away separately. The rules are the same as the previous giveaways:

  1. Leave a comment,
  2. with your name,
  3. and your preference of book (must pick one),
  4. and a valid email.
  5. For an extra entry, tweet the contest and include my Twitter handle, @homebtwnpages in the tweet, and the permalink to the tweet in your comment.

This is open for U.S. entries only. I’ll pick the winners next Friday, September 24.

Thanks to everyone who has already entered the two giveaways earlier this week. Missed ’em? The first is for Come Sunday and the second is for a shot to win The Shadow of the Wind or Brick Lane.

21 Responses to “BBAW Giveaway #3: The Secret of Lost Things & The Art of Racing in The Rain”

  1. Alyce September 17, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    I’d like to be entered for The Secret of Lost Things.

    akreese (at) hotmail (dot) com

  2. Kathy (The Literary Amnesiac) September 17, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    I would love to win The Secret of Lost Things! Thanks for the chance. –Kathy, hudsonsmom AT hotmail DOT com

  3. Amy September 17, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    I’d like to win THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Amy S.
    artsyrockerchick at aim dot com

  4. Megan September 17, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    I’d love to win The Art of Racing in the Rain!

    Thanks for the chance!

    toadacious1 at yahoo dot com

  5. Linda Kish September 18, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    The Art of Racing in the Rain

    Thanks for the chance to win.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  6. Amber Stults September 18, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    I’d like an entry for The Secret of Lost Things. Thanks!
    ~Amber

    amber at amberstults dot com

  7. Kristi H. September 18, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    I would love the chance to read The Secret of Lost Things!

    Kristi
    kherbrand at comcast dot net

  8. Sue September 18, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I’d love the Secret of Lost Things. Thanks!

    s.mickelson at gmail dot com

  9. Nora September 18, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    Choosing which book is tough! I think I’d have to go with the Art of Racing in the Rain because I love dogs. You have some great giveaways going on this week. Pretty much love it =)

  10. Nora September 18, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    And I tweeted.
    http://twitter.com/WalkingwithNora/status/24848169437

  11. Greg September 18, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Put me down for Art of Racing in the Rain – since you recommended it!

    gregoryRzimmerman@gmail.com. I tweeted it also.

    Thanks for the giveaways!

  12. Words We Women Write September 18, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Hey Rachel,
    I’d like a copy of Racing in the Rain. But I’ll take your advice if I don’t win!
    And can you believe it? Matilda is one of my all-time favorite books too!

    Come visit at http://www.desperatehousescribes.wordpress.com and take part in our giveaway.
    I’m at jtgiarnese@sbcglobal.net
    Cheers,
    Toni

  13. Lori L September 18, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    What a hard choice, but I’m choosing The Art of Racing in the Rain.
    shetreadssoftly(at)gmail(dot)com

  14. Fatema September 18, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    I’d like an entry for The Secret of Lost Things. Thanks!

  15. Jennifer G. September 20, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    I would love to win The Art of Racing in the Rain! Everyone seems to love it!

    +1 http://twitter.com/IntrovertedJen/status/25002522029

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  16. Heather Henderson September 20, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Thanks for another great BBAW giveaway. My pick would have to be The Art of Racing in the Rain. Heather H.
    hmhenderson AT yahoo DOT com

  17. Jamie September 20, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    So wanting The Art of Racing in the Rain! I’ve had a few people tell me that I’d love it!

    I RT your giveaway tweet. I’m @brokeandbookish

  18. Lauren September 20, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    I would LOVE to win The Secret of Lost Things, it sounds fabulous!
    My email is geeb.bookblog {at} gmail {dot} com

    I also tweeted but could not figure out how to add a permalink b/c I use my iphone to tweet. However, you did retweet my tweet (: my handle is @geebsbookblog

  19. Julie September 20, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    The Secret of Lost Things sounds wonderful!
    Julie @ Book Hooked Blog
    cla37619 (at) gmail (dot) com

  20. Ellie September 23, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    They both sound like wonderful books. Since I’m a dog person, I’ll put my name in for The Art of Racing in the Rain. Thanks for the chance!
    ~Ellie
    lemonandrose gmail

  21. Megan September 24, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    May I be entered for The Secret of Lost things please! Sounds great!

Leave a Reply

