24-Hour Read-A-Thon

7 Oct

Guys, I know. I’m a terrible blogger. I’ve been promising lots of things and not following through. I’m like a horrible boyfriend who promises a romantic night out on the town and then bails for work instead. Over and over again. And then we finally do go out, I’m on my Blackberry the whole time. Awful.

I’m totally backed up on reviews and I promise to be better, next week. Sunday, I’m all about reviewing and scheduling posts, just for you. Because I know you’re all dying without my insight and witicisms. Trust me, I miss myself too.

But! I have some fun news. A few things fell through, and it turns out I will be able to participate in Dewey’s Read-a-thon – 24 hours of non-stop reading. (Okay, theoretically it’s non-stop, but omg, no one can do that.) I did this last October, and had an absolute blast, even though I read mostly school books. This year, I’m reading again, and while last time felt productive because I was getting school work done, I wanted to make my reading count for something more important this go around.

Originally I’d teamed up with another blogger who’d planned on donating money to local literacy organizations based on how much a group of us read, but she’s dropped out suddenly and I still like the idea of making a donation.

So for every page I read, I’ll be donating 10 cents to one of two local charities: the Literacy Council of Prince George’s County and the Washington Literacy Council. I picked these two because I live in PG County and I work in Washington, D.C. and I feel very lucky to have the gift of literacy. (I often tell my parents that the very best gift they ever gave me was teaching me to read and passing on the love of books). I encourage all of you, whether you’ll be readathon-ing or not, to donate to these two great organizations or your own local literacy charities.

That being said, now the fun part comes right before the Read-a-thon of picking out books to read! Last year, I was highly ambitious and had a long list to choose from so I wouldn’t get bored. I ended up reading 4 1/2 books, with a total of 822 pages. My goal this year is to read at least four books (last year, two were American Girl books for school. Super short) and 1000 pages. Guys, that means, if I hit my goal, that’s a hundred bucks split between my two charities. Awesome, right?

Obviously, since I’m still in the midst of the Fall Seasonal Reading Challenge, I’ll be reading from my list of challenge books, but I still need to be strategic. Nothing massive, nothing non-fiction that’s boring, nothing that I can’t put down and pick up later. So this is the list I’m reading from:

Brick Lane by Monica Ali
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco Stork
The Brave by Nicholas Evans
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void by Mary Roach
One Day by David Nicholls
Speak by Mary Halse Anderson
Matched by Ally Condie
The Wrong Mother by Sophie Hannah

A good variety I think!

Are you participating in Read-a-thon? ARE YOU AS EXCITED AS I AM??

3 Responses to “24-Hour Read-A-Thon”

  1. Kerry October 8, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Oh, I so so so so so wish I could – sadly, have family in town (the same thing happened last year) and October is just crazy for me. Maybe I’ll host my own challenge in November 🙂

    Good luck with all the reading! I LOVED One Day, and can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Packing for Mars.

  2. Liz October 8, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Oh my gosh! How have I never heard of this!? Being that I have plenty of books in progress, and a free day/ night, I’m totally signing up, and scrambling to come up with a plan today.

    Also, I read One Day about a month ago, and really enjoyed it … I just couldn’t put it down.

    Good luck & happy reading tomorrow 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Readathon: Here We Go! « a home between the pages - October 9, 2010

    […] me of follow-up comments via email. Subscribe by email to this site 24-Hour Read-A-Thon RSS […]

Leave a Reply

