Readathon: Here We Go!

9 Oct

I’m up, I’m up!

I’m still in my PJ’s but I’m starting on time this morning. I’ll be posting updates every few hours, so check back!

Here’s my Hour 1 meme:

Where are you reading from today? I’m reading from Maryland and DC and maybe Virginia, just to get them all in. It’s a “cross state lines” kind of readathon 🙂

3 facts about me …

  1. I learned how to swim when I was less than a year old.
  2. I have been known to go to a bookstore to browse and sit down with a book I’ve just glanced at and ended up read the whole thing in the store. (This usually happens with YA novels).
  3. I have two talents: balancing a spoon on my nose and parallel parking.

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? Nine, but since all the books I’m reading today are from the Seasonal Reading Challenge, I actually have quite a bit more to choose from if I need to.

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)? I’m shooting for 4 books and 1000 pages. I’m also reading for charity (my post about it is here), so 1000 pages would mean $100 to split between two literacy organizations.

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time? If you’re not into a book, pick up something else. Don’t torture yourself with something you’re not enjoying.

 

2 Responses to “Readathon: Here We Go!”

  1. Stacy October 9, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    Wow, that is interstate reading! I will be reading a little to the north of you in PA. I haven’t read a whole book in the bookstore but definitely sections:) Happy reading!

  2. tanabata October 9, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I think it’s really wonderful that you’re reading for literacy charities! Good luck reaching your goal, and hopefully having a fun day in the process! 🙂

Leave a Reply

