Readathon: End of Event Meme

10 Oct

Well that was fun, wasn’t it, kids?

I didn’t get nearly as much read as I wanted to yesterday – but it was still fun, and I managed to stay up pretty late to read.

Here’s the final count:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 18, after which point, I fell asleep.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? The only book I read was Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld, but it was a page turner. I finished it just before 3am and all 485 pages were completely engaging. If you haven’t read the first in the triology, Leviathan, both books would be great high-interest reads.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope, it’s well-run and well-organized as usual 🙂
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The cheers were fantastic 🙂 Love those cheerleaders!
5. How many books did you read? One (not even close to the four I was hoping for.)
6. What were the names of the books you read? Behemoth
7. Which book did you enjoy most? Um, self-explanatory 🙂

8. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely. I love participating and this year, I got to do it for a great cause.

Total pages: 490 (this includes the 5 pages of Brick Lane I read before I bailed for Behemoth).

And speaking of great causes, I’m taking a cue from Teresa at Shelf Love and I’ve decided to count all the pages I read over the course of the weekend toward my charity fundraising. I’m working on Monday, so that means that everything today will count toward the total, and I’m hoping in that way, I’ll hit the 1000-page, $200 donation mark easily. Right now, I’m halfway there. Wish me luck!

 

3 Responses to “Readathon: End of Event Meme”

  1. Kerry October 11, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Such fun! I’ve heard great things about Westerfield.

  2. Ariadne E. November 4, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    To counter – or add to – your thesis, here’s one of the best articles of literary criticism I have ever had the fortune of reading.

    http://www.newyorker.com/archive/2001/10/01/011001fa_FACT3?currentPage=all

    To me, holding the fact that Holden is immature and sometimes annoying and etc etc etc against the book is silly. Of course he is. He is SUPPOSED to be. Or, as a favourite blogger of mine puts it: “I’m looking for examples of books, movies, music, etc, about which your perception or enjoyment has changed with your age. For example, Catcher in the Rye. I think most kids go through a phase of excessive identification with Holden Caufield (“Yeah! So true! People are phonies!”), then maybe you re-read it and start to see him as a bit of an immature jerk, and some years later you read it yet again and understand why he almost has to be an immature jerk for the story to make its larger point, and so on.”

    In any case, if this is your first Salinger, the man is a much much MUCH better short-story-and-novella writer than a novelist. I understand why Catcher is so popular and I actually think it’s a great book. BUT. We live in a very unfair world if the man who produced such masterpieces as Nine Stories, Franny and Zooey and the whole Glass family stories and novellas, will only be remembered for Catcher in the Rye (in my opinion, a much lesser work than those).

  3. Ariadne E. November 4, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Oops, this comment was meant for the above post ‘Reading Catcher in the Rye’) – my mistake. It somehow went to the next one after it. Ah.

Leave a Reply

