Linen-white Pages

12 Oct

I am reading David Nicholls’ One Day and completely loving it. In fact, I’m loving it so much, that I’ve actually highlighted passages and quotes, inserted mini Post-its to keep track of pages I like, and basically done a lot of book abuse that I never would condone otherwise.

But there’s a fantastic quote that I just have to share because I know I relate to it, and I bet a bunch of you book lovers and writers can relate too.

She drinks pints of coffee and writes little observations and ideas for stories with her best fountain pen on the linen-white pages of expensive notebooks. Sometimes, when it’s going badly, she wonders if what she believes to be a love of the written word is really just a fetish for stationary.

4 Responses to “Linen-white Pages”

  1. oh October 24, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    OMG, yes! It is (often) the lure of the notebook or paper that gets me to bring pen to paper. My journal at the moment is uninspiring; I spent an hour last night pimping it up with some ribbon and colored pencil sketches, etc. (also because I couldn’t think of what to write at that moment and the household was noisy!)

    Wonderful quote, so apropos and made me LOL.

  2. Share October 26, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    I LOVE that quote! Now I am going to have to add that to my “to read” list!

  3. thezebracactus December 10, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    Awesome quote. People keep checking this one out of my school’s library, I’ll have to pick it up next time!

Leave a Reply

