Around the corner…

12 Nov

2010 is almost over.

And by almost over, I mean, we officially have fewer than 50 days left in the year.

I know, it’s a little surreal isn’t it?

I took the opportunity of the impending new year to look at where I’ve gotten in the modest goals I set for 2010. And I’m not even going to link back to any of those posts because I’m so embarrassed by how poorly I’ve done. I just this morning updated my Books Read in 2010 page (which I hadn’t done since MAY!!), and was woefully disappointed in the number. I almost don’t want to admit it, because it’s so low, but since you all are perfectly capable of clicking on that little link up there and counting for yourselves, I’ll just admit it out loud.

Sigh.

40 books.

That’s it. That’s less than one book a week, which feels really dismal. I know that some of you might be shaking your head at me, going, “Rachel. Are you serious? I’d be thrilled to have read 40 books in less than a year. Shut up.” But for me, it doesn’t feel like much at all. Some weeks I read two or three books, and then there are months like this one, where I’m reading a chunkster (The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer) that is science-y and slower, and it’s taken me two weeks to get just over halfway through it. But I thought, I’d read more than 40 this year. I really did.

You’ll also note that, in that list of books I read in 2010, most of them are not hyperlinked to my review of them. Because I didn’t review them. Which is probably what I feel worse about, worse than the lack of reading is the awful lack of posting and reviewing.

You didn’t realize you were walking into a self-pity party, did you?

Well it’s not all doldrums and dead daisies around here. I’m setting some goals for the last seven weeks of the year, both reading- and blogging-related.

Reading Goals (I take myself much more seriously when there’s bold involved) (and numbered lists)

  1. Read nine more books, to get to 50 books for the year. This is just a bit faster than my average pace, but the holidays and a long plane flight are coming up so I’ve got some time to get this accomplished.
  2. Read East of Eden. It’s been on my TBR pile so long that it’s starting to scare me. But I’m dying to read it. So I just will.
  3. Reach 250 points in the Fall Seasonal Reading Challenge. I am currently at 145 points.

Blogging Goals

  1. Post 15 reviews, in addition to other related blogging.
  2. Write at least twice a week.
  3. Start working with a designer to revamp the blog.

So. I’m not being unrealistic in my goals, right? I think I can feasibly stick to this plan. It’s also something I’ll need to keep in mind come January 1st, and I’m setting 2011 goals. Maybe year-long resolutions don’t work for me. Maybe I’m a baby steps kind of goal-setter. Either way, I’m back on track.

And if I forget about this post, someone please smack me/send me an email and remind me, ‘kay?

3 Responses to “Around the corner…”

  1. Alexis November 12, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Rachel- This was a great post, and inspired me to reflect on my progress/goals for the year. Although I’ve not accomplished all that I set out to do, I did progress, as did you. I like the way you rallied in the end and re-set goals for yourself. Goooood Luck!

  2. Kerry November 12, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    Definitely inspired me to reflect as well – though I’m on my way out the door, so I’ll have to reflect tomorrow. I don’t think I broke 40 books this year (although I did read 6 on vacation last week, so made up for a bit of lost time), so don’t be too discouraged in your number. Love the goals you’ve set for yourself – especially East of Eden. Hope you enjoy it!

  3. pburt November 14, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Love, love East of Eden – Steinbeck has one of the best characterizations of evil in this book and I find it a fast read. It is one of those books I re-read.

    Good luck on your goals

Leave a Reply

