2011 Challenges?

10 Jan

You would think that with this whole “Year of Reading Deliberately” I would stay away from Challenges. And you’re right, I’m going to, for the most part. For example, in December, I started to do the Winter Seasonal Challenge on Goodreads, but I realized that I was too engrossed in my Chunksters (which, granted, were part of the challenge) to care about point totals and pages read. I didn’t really plan on taking on challenges beyond my personal Classics challenge, and I still won’t, but I thought it would be interesting to track the books I read in 2011 in ways more meaningful than just title and author.

I’m still going to note them in a tab here on the blog, but I’m also going to track them in a Google Doc so I can keep track of publication date, page numbers, and genre, among other things. I also stumbled upon the Where Are You Reading Challenge by Sheila at BookJourney and I really like the idea of tracking the geography of the books I’m reading, especially since I’ll be making an effort to read more non-fiction. That being said, I’m not going to purposely read books to fit the challenge (i.e. I won’t skip a book I really want to read because I haven’t read a book set in Delaware). But it seems like a good column to add to my spreadsheet. So I’m not going to actually sign up on Sheila’s blog, since I’m not reading to accomplish the challenge.

But with that in mind, I’ve already got Georgia covered: I finished Gone With The Wind this weekend. (Crossing off my Classics list now!)

My review is forthcoming, but let me just say, I’m still in a daze from it and I don’t want to start anything new yet, because I want to savor the story and wallow in the ending.

9 Responses to “2011 Challenges?”

  1. Jo-Jo January 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    I try to stick to challenges that line up with what I will be reading anyway, but still I find that I signed up for a ton of 2011 challenges…how does this happen? lol

    I’m glad you enjoyed Gone With the Wind…I still haven’t read that one myself.

    • Rachel January 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      I love challenges, so I totally understand signing up for way more than you intend to. I’m going to have to really work on staying away from challenges that don’t fit my resolutions this year.

  2. Anna January 10, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Can’t wait for your review on Gone With The Wind. I mean, take your time and wallow and all first…

    • Rachel January 14, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

      I’ll write it this weekend, I promise 🙂

  3. Nora January 11, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I have just barely started Gone with the Wind; I really need to get into it more since I hear it’s such a good book! It would be interested to track the geography of the books that I read going forward…

    • Rachel January 14, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

      It starts slow, but pretty soon you’ll get sucked in. Trust me 🙂

  4. Dorothy W. January 15, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    I feel torn because I like to read a lot of books and have a nice high number at the end of the year, but I like reading long books as well. I wish I didn’t care about numbers quite so much — I think that’s the better way to be!

    • Rachel January 16, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      I can totally understand that conflict. I’ve debated counting the number of pages I’m reading, instead of number of books, so I still feel like I got a lot accomplished. And then maybe compare that number to the pages you read last year.

  5. share January 17, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    Sounds great! How about we do a” where are you reading NON challenge. I’ve never really kept track, but it sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

