Perfect Reading Days

14 Jan

Most of the Northeast/New England region got pummeled by a monster snow storm this week, and once again this year, DC got side-swiped and missed out on the heaviest of snowfall. It’s happened a few times this year, and after the epic Snowmaggedon storms of last year, it feels like a bit of a let down. Yes, the mid-Atlantic region is woefully under-prepared for those kind of storms and feet upon feet of snow, and yes, storms like that can be debilitating if you lose power and/or heat.

But for me, blizzards that leave several feet of snow on the ground and strand you in your house are both sentimental and welcome (provided we don’t lose power in the house). Sentimental because I went to college in upstate New York – in the middle of the lake-effected snow belt and always covered in snow for 7 months of the year, and welcome because it gives me a chance to curl up with a good book, with no obligations or responsibilities outside the house. When you’re snowed in like that, the world sort of just disappears and it’s all the easier to lose yourself in a good book (slippers and hot cocoa certainly help too!).

Sadly, I didn’t get many snow days off last year. I trudged into the office because we never closed – unlike the vast majority of other businesses – and only took two days off when my neighborhood became completely impassable. But several of my more northern friends have gotten a few days off this week, and I’m completely jealous.

Snow is the beginning ingredient to my perfect reading day. I mentioned a couple others already – slippers and hot cocoa – but there’s some other elements that help too:

  • A comfy blanket — for me this is my college sweatshirt blanket or a down comforter (my parents keep the house really, super cold).
  • Popcorn or other snacks that can be eaten with one hand. As much as I’d like cheese and crackers, you can’t spread cheese without putting down your book. No good.
  • Music in the background. I don’t mind music while I read, even though I know it bothers some people. I prefer something that I’ve listened to a million times that I can enjoy without actively paying attention to it.
  • Exclusive use of the couch, even if it means I have to call dibs any time I get up for a few minutes.
  • No distractions. This one is key – no chores, no errands, nothing beyond a book that requires my attention.

I don’t think it’s asking for a lot, but rarely do I get such a perfect reading day. Usually there’s a TV on somewhere in the house, or errands to run, chores to do, and never any time to block it all out.

This weekend I’m going to try to do just that. I’ve got a window of opportunity and I plan to take full advantage. Granted I won’t get the snow part, but not all reading days can be perfect.

What makes a perfect reading day for you?

(No fear, my weekend will not be spent entirely reading – look for my review of Gone With The Wind early next week!)

7 Responses to “Perfect Reading Days”

  1. Mystica January 15, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    We do not have snow at all in my part of the world but today is a grey, sort of about to rain day. Not hot, not humid just right. But unfortunately there is a lot of stuff to do and reading will have to take a backseat.

    A comfy place, lots of pillows, something to nibble yes that all adds to a perfect reading day.

    • Rachel January 16, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      I love those kind of days too. The summertime here gets miserable and humid too and those overcast days are the best kind for staying in and reading. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Bree January 15, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I love blizzards or heavy snowstorms too for just the same reasons – guilty/obligation free comfy reading.

  3. Kerry January 17, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    I love snow days for reading, too, because I feel like I don’t have to go running off on various errands. My hardest part about setting aside solid reading hours is my constant sense of to-do lists – I’ll be reading and think of the dishes that need doing, the laundry, the bills, etc. I need to disconnect.

    And I’m an oversized armchair reader, not the couch. Warm blanket is key (we keep our house cold, too).

    Can’t wait to see your review of Gone with the Wind!

  4. Nora January 18, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Winter perfect reading days include a warm blanket, my dog at my feet and a fire in the fireplace. Oh, and a mug of peppermint tea!

    If we are talking about spring/summer, then I have to go with outside, on a chaise lounge, a girlie drink in hand or nearby, DMB on the stereo and a light breeze to combat the summer heat. Or just give me a pool/beach and I’m good to go 🙂

  5. Nicky January 21, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I love this post – for the first time in my life I wish I lived somewhere where it snowed! It’s really hot (most of the time) in Johannesburg, and I love lying outside reading, in the shade with a glass of something cool to sip – pretty much the polar opposite to your best days 🙂

    • Rachel January 21, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      I love those kind of days too! It’s just such a rarity around here to get comfortably warm days that aren’t oppressively humid or that don’t make my allergies go crazy. It’s so cold here right now that I’m trying to make the best of it 🙂 but I would kill for your perfect reading day right now!

Leave a Reply

