Boxes, boxes, everywhere

12 Mar

You might have noticed a bit of a drop off in my posting lately (or maybe not – its probably pretty close to my normal sporadic schedule), but if you did, its because I’ve got quite a bit going on in my life. Some I can talk about, and some I can’t, but one of the things I can say is that I’m moving out of my parents’ house into a room in a house on Capital Hill. It’s a great townhouse with three roommates, and I’m absolutely giddy about it. But anyone that reads a lot knows the burden that is moving when you’ve got tons and tons of books to your name. I’ve already started packing them up – after all, they’ll be a large percentage of the boxes I have to move and they’re pretty easy to pack, compared to everything else.

But oh my goodness, there are so many! I knew I owned a lot of books, and since I’ll be moving into a room, not my own house or apartment, I certainly can’t take them all. But as I’m trying to determine what stays and what goes, I’m also realizing that I’d love to be able to unpack them and put them on the shelves in some manner of organization.

Right now, and for as long as I can remember, there’s been no semblance of order to my books at all. It’s always just been as I acquire them, they fill spots on the shelves. So guess there’s a loose chronology based on when I bought the books, but that doesn’t really make any sense to anyone besides me. And now that I’m culling what I’ll be bring with me, that order is completely shot to hell. So here’s a question, friends – do you organize your books in any particular way? Alphabetically? By subject? By color like this:

How much would I love to be able to do something like that?? But I think the impracticality of it would override the design of it. I would absolutely never be able to find anything (even though, after working in a bookstore for almost two years, I’m highly attuned to remember what covers look like and what color they are). And the first time I bought anything new, I’d be rearranging to make space in the right block of color. Of course that’s true with every organizational system, isn’t it? Shifting and making space for new additions…

I don’t know if any kind of organization is a good idea! I’ve been getting along just fine to this point without one. How much easier it would be though…

Now I’m just rambling…

But I really am curious what everyone else out there uses. I’m bringing about 20 boxes worth of books with me so even though everything will just be in one room, some kind of order wouldn’t be a bad idea.

Well, no matter what system I end up with, I know one things for sure. I won’t really feel settled into the new place until my books are on the shelves.

8 Responses to “Boxes, boxes, everywhere”

  1. share March 13, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    I only have 2 small book shelves, so shelf space is Prime real estate! I like to organize my books by read vs to-read, and loved vs liked. A friend recently reorganized my shelves and now they are by author and fiction vs non fiction, I guess that’s okay too, but I find myself slowly slipping back into my old habits. I also have a seprate area for childrens books & those are organize by age group.
    We are moving in July and I am dreading packing up my library, but I love to unpack it!!
    Good luck!

  2. oh March 13, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    How to arrange books? Haven’t a clue, especially since there are NOT enough bookshelves in this house! Anyway, I had them arranged in the den by topic, rather akin ye olde Dewey Decimal system. Then Hubs got the idea to go according to color, much as you pictured above. the result: Mayhem! I don’t know where my stuff is. Fortunately, this “rearrangement” occurred in one room only. Nope, haven’t got a perfect system. (egads, the one in my office is by “brand new and not read,” “started but not finished” and “ones I’ve had for ages and haven’t read yet.” Yeah, pretty abstract.

  3. Kerry March 14, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Oh, moving is so exciting and draining! When I moved, I decided it was best for my sanity not to count my books. I definitely had more book boxes than anything else boxes, though.

    When my husband and I got married and moved in together (we were old-fashioned like that), we had to merge our books. We ended up separating by genre: we have Irish history; history; memoir/biography; classics; modern fiction; fantasy (pulled out of modern fiction). We have bookshelves all over the house. It makes it looks so much more cozy, and like you, I never could have felt settled until I had my books unpacked.

    Good luck!

  4. vazenchick March 14, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    I organize my books by genre and by the frequency I read. I have approximately 250 books (give or take 100) that I’ve had to downsize recently due to moving to a new place. I used to have a HUGE Ikea shelf to house my books, but have now been “demoted’ to two 5 shelfs to house my books. Although it sucks having less space it’s made me really consider/evaluate whether or not a book deserves to be on my shelves. Needless to say some did not make the cut this last move. Although it hurts to get rid of some old favorites due to lack of space I now have a back up- MY KINDLE!!

    🙂

  5. B. Wolf March 15, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    I would have to say that getting to rearrange my books is one of the only parts I enjoy of moving. My books are organized by (1)fiction vs. (2)nonfiction then seperated into these sub genres:
    1. horses, dogs, other animals, magazines, other nonfiction
    2. everything, children’s
    Each is then arranged by author last name, then by title or series. As time progresses I will probably have to add more sub groups, but for now this does the trick!

  6. Malnurtured Snay March 15, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I don’t really sort them. I’ve tried. Some authors I have together, others not. I usually cluster my MM, QPs, and CL together as much as possible.

  7. Nora March 18, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Moving? Kudos to you… I’m dreadful when it comes to moving. I have another one coming up soon and I have NO idea where I’ll be able to put all my books and it’s kind of freaking me out. Like, a lot.

    I tend to organize them by height (on each shelf) and then by read/not read… sadly right now there are a lot that aren’t read. I’m working on that though.

    I would LOVE to have a huge library and be able to have books wall to wall, by color, subject, etc. It would make me positively giddy!

  8. Bree March 21, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Wow 20 boxes. I’m impressed and jealous.

Leave a Reply

