Challenge: Once Upon A Time

5 Apr

I know I said when I made my resolutions at the beginning of the year that I wasn’t going to do any challenges (or very few). But I stumbled upon Stainless Steel Droppings’ Once Upon a Time Challenge and I really liked the idea of getting back in touch with some of the genres I’d discovered and fallen in love with while I was completing my kid lit certificate. Essentially the challenge asks you to read books from these four genres: fantasy, fairy tales, folklore and mythology. You can take on the challenge in a variety of ways, but I’ve decided to do Quest the First which is to read five books from any combination of these four genres. You don’t have to read one of each, just a total of five. I don’t have any particular folklore-ish books on my TBR list, so I thought I’d take this approach and be able to read a variety of books without feel pressed to read from a particular genre I’m not that interested in. The challenge runs through spring, from March 21st to June 20th. A solid three months to break me out of these reading slump.

If you follow me on Twitter you might have noticed that my #fridayreads book has been the same for the last month. I’d been hoping that, by sticking with the book I was reading (review to come!), I’d just snap out of it. But alas that hasn’t happened, and instead of reading when I normally would, I’m choosing to do other, less productive things instead. Like playing Angry Birds. Until 2am. Not helpful for anyone. So I’ve decided to abandon that book, and try to kick start my reading interest again. And these kinds of books are a guaranteed slump-breaker. I don’t know exactly what I’m going to read, but I think these will definitely be on the list as possibilities:

A little fantasy, a fairy tale and quite a bit of mythology.

Obviously I’m excited for A Game of Thrones: Book One of A Song of Ice and Fire before the HBO series starts. It’ll be a re-read, as will the rest of the series before book #5 is released (hopefully) this summer, but it’s been so long since I’ve read it that I think it’ll be a lot like reading it fresh for the first time.

I’m seriously hoping that a little bit of fantasy can knock me out of my funk. Things are starting to get seriously un-bookish around here and it’s scaring me ;). Maybe I’ll pick up one of these to sink into for Read-a-thon this weekend.

What are your favorite fantasy, fairy tale, folklore or mythology books?

What do you read to break out of a reading slump?

4 Responses to “Challenge: Once Upon A Time”

  1. C_Girl April 5, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Oooh, The Infinities looks so good. And I adored American Gods.

    I hope other people give some good suggestions, as I like these genres a lot but find them very hit or miss.

  2. Kerry April 5, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Love your book choice! I am re-reading Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time for exactly the same reason (well, I started the re-read to get out of a slump, and continued when I found out they are available on CD from my library and prove the perfect companion to my daily commute). I’m hoping to re-read Song of Ice and Fire this year, too.

    • Rachel April 5, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

      I’m normally VERY skeptical about high fantasy like GRRM and Jordan, and I need some serious high praise to get into them. I think the Fire and Ice series is really the only high fantasy series I’ve been able to commit to. Sad for me that there’s such a gap between books. I’m destined to suffer 🙂

      Will you be watching the series on HBO?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Read-a-thon time! « a home between the pages - April 8, 2011

    […] read Dismantled by Jennifer McMahon and A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin as part of the Once Upon A Time Challenge, but after that? Who knows? I might just wing it and see what I grab off the shelf next […]

Leave a Reply

