Read-a-thon time!

8 Apr

It’s funny – in the midst of moving and posting four times (!!!!) this week (and the impending Federal Government shutdown which is guaranteed to make my working life hell for as long as it lasts), I’d totally forgotten that I’d signed up to participate in Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon this weekend. I mean, I knew I’d signed up, but it somehow just slipped my mind that it was this weekend. So because I forgot, does that mean I have to bail??

Fear not! I’ll still be participating, starting at 7am (ish) tomorrow morning and reading until 7am Sunday morning (maybe…). I was supposed to do some apartment stuff – like go to Ikea and buy things – but that can all wait until Sunday. Especially since the weather here tomorrow is gonna be gross – cold and rainy – and what a perfect day to stay in and read, right?

I’ve got a few goals for the read-a-thon that I’m still nailing down – look for them in my intro blog post tomorrow morning. But one thing that I’m definitely going to be doing again is reading for charity. And I’m not alone. There’s now a Mr. Linky on the read-a-thon blog where you can sign up to read for charity.  I love that so many people will be donating as they read this year, and once again, I’ll be donating to the Washington Literacy Council – 10 cents for every page. Since I’m now officially a Washington, DC resident, it feels fitting to donate to a DC organization dedicated to teaching illiterate adults to read.

So I’ve got some other planning to do in preparation – namely what books I’m going to read and what food I’m going to stock up on! Definitely on my to-read stack will be my current read Dismantled by Jennifer McMahon and A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin as part of the Once Upon A Time Challenge, but after that? Who knows? I might just wing it and see what I grab off the shelf next :).

I’m also going to stock up on snacks, like fruit and popcorn, and the ingredients to make one of my favorite easy meals, Mustard Tarragon Chicken, that I can cook one-handed (with a book in the other – obviously). The last goal for read-a-thon is to use it as an excuse to explore my new neighborhood. There are supposedly some great coffee shops in my ‘hood that are prime reading spots and moving around will be a great way to break up the scenery a bit. Add in my laptop for blogging updates, and I’ll be ready to go.

So those are my plans for Read-a-Thon. What are yours?

4 Responses to “Read-a-thon time!”

  1. Linda April 8, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    I’ve got all my books together but I need food! Must run to the grocery store tonight!

  2. Phaedosia April 8, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    I am so disappointed–I have to work all day. But, I was hoping you’d post the Mustard Tarragon Chicken recipe. Any food that can be made WHILE reading is okay in my book.

  3. elizabethwillse April 8, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Wow, moving, job stress, AND the read-a-thon? Ambitious! Then again, I’m convinced that the Read-a-Thon is like a book blogger spa-retreat! Goofy, good for the soul and relaxing. Kind of.
    Happy reading!
    When you get to it, please post the recipe for tarragon chicken.
    I feel like I’m cheating- I retreated to my parents’ place and got Dad to cook for me while I read. I win!

  4. Emily April 9, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    I hope you’re enjoying the read-a-thon so far- I’m raising money for a local organization as well (Virginia Beach Public Library.) Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

