Okay, okay, I’m awake! (Read-A-Thon Kick-off)

9 Apr

Yes, yes, I know technically the read-a-thon started like two hours ago, but you’ll be happy to know that I discovered my new favorite neighborhood bar last night. Literally this place is two blocks from my new apartment and there’s a school bus upstairs. No lie. So of course I had an obligation to check it out. I did get home at a fairly reasonable hour though (but that’s mostly because I’m old and a light-weight). So I’m up and reading!

I’m answering the opening questions now, and I’ll just count the last two hours as sleepy-time benefiting the end goal of the day. Rationalization…can’t beat it ;).

1)Where are you reading from today? I’m reading from Washington, DC
2)Three random facts about me… I’m going to four weddings this year, I can touch my nose with my tongue, and I cheered at the bar (along with everyone else there) last night when they announced that they’d reached a budget agreement on CNN. Because at bars in DC, we watch CNN.
3)How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? I have at least two, but I’m just going to wing it this year in terms of planning out my books.
4)Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)? I want to finish my current read, Dismantled, but other than that, no goals. I’m just here to have fun. I would like to raise $75 today – that’s 750 pages – but I’m not going to kill myself to get there.
5)If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time? I’ve done this I think three times now, and I always suggest reading something short and/or fast for your first book so you feel productive right away. Also take breaks – do mini-challenges, watch a 1/2 hour comedy or something on TV – if you’re feeling sleepy or bored. And if you’re struggling through a book, put it down and start something else. No one is forcing you to finish all the books you start today.
Okay, Read-a-thoners! I’m committed and I’ll be seeing you all around today. Follow my updates on Twitter too: http://www.twitter.com/homebtwnpages

3 Responses to “Okay, okay, I’m awake! (Read-A-Thon Kick-off)”

  1. Vasilly April 9, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Happy reading!

  2. Colleen April 9, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Gotta love finding a neighborhood bar! Good luck today with the reading and great job on reading for charity! I am reading for Colon Cancer Alliance – doing it last RAT really kept me motivated!

  3. Bree April 10, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    My daughter and I just got back from DC. Loved it. We stayed in Alexandria. What a wonderful place. We’ve decided it is our next favorite place to move to when she gets out of college.

Leave a Reply

