Taking This Show on the Road

26 Apr

Once again this year, I’ve got a lot of travel on the calendar. And none of it is purely for my own pleasure. No actual vacation this year, just lots and lots of weddings. It’s the curse of being in your mid- to late 20s and everyone is getting married. I’ve got five weddings this year, matching my record for one year but certainly not the distance traveled. In 2009 I also had five weddings and you might recall that I traveled to Israel all by myself for my cousin’s wedding. I lugged a bunch of books with me on that trip including the massive tome, Pillars of the Earth. Not sure what I was thinking taking a nearly-1000 page doorstop with me, but carting it around was worth the trouble. However, that trip along with all my other wedding travels that year convinced me to get an eReader. But owning a nook for the purposes of travel has introduced a conundrum in my life. Rarely am I between books when I leave on a trip, so I end up bringing a physical book with me, completely voiding the purpose of the eReader. It’s been a problem, especially since I do still own mostly physical books.

I’m leaving on Thursday for a cousin’s wedding in California, which means some serious in-flight reading time.

(SIDE NOTE: I’m not the only one that actually looks forward to long plane/train rides because I get uninterrupted reading time, am I?)

I am in the middle of a great book by Amy Stolls, The Ninth Wife (pub date: May 10) so that will be coming with me, but otherwise, I’m going to stick very hard to just bringing my nook and my iPod for all my other reading needs. I’ve stocked the nook with several galleys thanks to netGalley:

Your Voice in My Head: A Memoir by Emma Forrest (publication date: May 3 by Other Press)
This Girl Is Different by JJ Johnson (publication date: April 1 by Peachtree Publishers)
Domestic Violets by Matthew Norman (publication date: Sept. 1 by HarperCollins)
Two Kisses for Maddy: A Memoir of Loss & Love by Matt Logelin (publication date: April 14 by Grand Central Publishing)

And I downloaded two audio books from Audible.com: Bossypants by Tina Fey (narrated by Tina Fey) and Unfamiliar Fishes by Sarah Vowell (take a look at the list of narrators through the link and see why I chose this one in audio instead of print).

I think that’s enough to keep me busy, don’t you?

One Response to “Taking This Show on the Road”

  1. Meg @ A Bookish Affair April 30, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    LOL, one of the reasons that I most love travel is all of the uninterrupted reading time!

Leave a Reply

