From A To Z

27 Apr

We all know how much I love my lists, right? I saw this meme on What Red Read, who got it from The Book Stop, who got it from Weekly Geeks. (I love how memes like this make the rounds, don’t you?) The point of this one is to come up with a favorite author for each letter of the alphabet, because if you’re anything like me, it’s impossible to come up with just ONE favorite author. List one or more than one for each letter. Skip any you struggle with.

A: Jane Austen
B:
Chris Bohjalian
C:
Dan Chaon
D:
Roald Dahl
E:
Nicholas Evans
F:
Tana French
G:
John Green
H:
Pete Hamill
I:
John Irving, Greg Iles
J:
Sebastian Junger
K:
Nicole Krauss
L:
Jonathan Lethem, Lois Lowry
M:
Jennifer McMahon
N:
David Nicolls
O:
Lauren Oliver
P:
Ann Patchett, Elliot Perlman, Jodi Picoult
Q:
Anna Quindlen
R:
Salman Rushdie, JK Rowling
S:
Kamila Shamsie
T:
U:
V:
W:
Jennifer Weiner, Scott Westerfeld
X:
Y:
Z:

What became abundantly clear in trying to put together this list is in who I’m lacking. So I’m doing a second list: authors I’m convinced would be my favorite if I actually took the time to read their books.

A: Paul Auster
B:
Bill Bryson, T.C. Boyle, Kevin Baker
C:
Paulo Coelho, Kate Christensen
D:
Andre Dubus III, Jennifer Donnelly, Joan Didion, Charles Dickens
E:
Jennifer Egan, Dave Eggers
F:
Thomas Friedman, Richard Ford
G:
Lisa Genova, Neil Gaiman
H:
Adam Haslett, Sophie Hannah, Jennifer Haigh
I:
J:
Ha Jin, Erica Jong, Henry James
K:
Milan Kundera, Elizabeth Kostova, Katrina Kittle, Jack Kerouac
L:
Wally Lamb, Adam Langer
M:
Larry McMurtry, Ian McEwan, Jay McInerney, Cormac McCarthy, Emily St. John Mandel
N:
O:
Stewart O’Nan, Joyce Carol Oates,
P:
Per Petterson, George Pelecanos
Q:
R:
Marilynne Robinson
S:
Lisa Tucker, Leo Tolstoy
U: John Updike
V: Gore Vidal, Rachel Vail, Kurt Vonnegut
W: Tom Wolfe, Deborah Willis, Sarah Waters

Clearly, I’ve got a long way to go :-\

3 Responses to “From A To Z”

  1. Alley April 27, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    I love that you put together a second list of authors you’d probably love if you read them! Genius. I kept coming across names of authors I wanted to use but then I realized I haven’t actually read them and while I bet I would like them I can’t really use them for the list.

    • Rachel April 27, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      Ha! I was doing the same thing, which is why the second list was obviously necessary. So glad I’m not the only one with this problem 🙂

  2. Kari April 28, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Oh goodness, this is a difficult task! This is a case in which it’s a good thing I’ve kept a record of all books I’ve read for the past 10 years.

Leave a Reply

