“I want to be brand new, I want to trade in these wings”

14 Jun

In case you haven’t popped over here lately, or you’re reading this in a feed reader, you might not have noticed that there are some aesthetic changes around here.

Go ahead.

Click through.

I’ll wait.

Don’t you love the green? I decided my blog was just too GRAY. It needed some color. So I put up some wallpaper, did a little sponge texture paint thing on the ceiling, laid down new floors, installed some tasteful crown molding and spiffied things up around here.

Also, you might notice a few new buttons to the right, over there —>

I’ve got a new Facebook page! Go like me!!

And there’s a new Tumblr as well! Let me know if you also have a Tumblr so I can follow you.

I decided to do some revamping because, let’s face it, I love this little corner of the internet, and after BEA, I really want everyone else to like it too. But we all know sex sells, and this blog needed to show a little thigh if it wanted to make some new friends ::wink, wink::

So let me know what you think. I’m really happy with the changes and I hope you like them too.

*The quote in today’s blog post title is from the Matt Nathanson song, “Church Clothes.”*

10 Responses to ““I want to be brand new, I want to trade in these wings””

  1. Lori (TNBBC) June 14, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    Very nice Rachel! I like it! And hooray for creating a Facebook blog page. AND a Tumblr? I have a tumblr but I havent updated it. It takes a backseat to all the other TNBBC pots I’ve been stirring, but you are more than welcome to follow it πŸ™‚ Way to social-network your stuff!!!!

  2. Heather June 14, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Your site looks great. I really like what you’ve done with the place! Haha!

  3. C_Girl June 14, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Sooo pretty! I see you are reading the new Patchett–I just finished it and it was AMAZING. Love love love. I described it to a friend as “Poisonwood Bible meets Atul Gawande with a dash of Oryx and Crake.”

  4. William Torgerson June 14, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    I used to use this theme all the time. Is the switch to green simple, just in the settings? Not that you’re running a tech tip blog. πŸ™‚

    Does your “brand new” only apply to the look of the blog or is there more “new” for you out there?

    Best,

    Bill

    • Rachel June 14, 2011 at 11:03 am #

      Yeah, it’s one of the color options under theme options. I’m a big fan of green so I really loved the variants on this.

      The “new” refers to both the revamp in look and the new Facebook, the new Tumblr, and I’m hoping a greater focus on content and higher frequency of postings. I think that making the site pretty will make me WANT to post more. That’s the hope anyway! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Lisa @ BaffledBooks June 14, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I use this theme too, so of course I love your update! πŸ™‚ If you want help changing any of the css just shout, I like playing with it. I’m following you on tumblr too! A change is nice every once in a while! πŸ™‚

    • Rachel June 14, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      Omg I can’t believe your site and my site come from the same place. You are a CSS rockstar. I don’t even know how I’d update it — my creative brain doesn’t work that way :(. But I’ll let you know if I have any wild ideas :).

  6. Kari June 15, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Woohoo Tumblr! This is my goal…getting book bloggers on Tumblr, too!

  7. alice June 15, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    purrrdddy! i’ve been meaning to update my blog template/layout for, oh, about FIVE YEARS now. you can see how well tha’ts going.

  8. Kerry June 18, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    I love it! Isn’t it fun to do a makeover every now and again? I’m thinking my own site needs an overhaul (or at the very least a minor update). Now I just have to find the time & motivation to do it.

    Also, I just followed your FB page. Love it!

Leave a Reply

