Summer Reading: New Releases!

30 Jun

I love summer reading. I really, really do. I’m not entirely sure why though. I know as a kid, I was that nerdy student that wanted to go get all the books on my summer reading lists as soon as possible so I could start them early. Summer meant a blanket and lemonade in the backyard with a pillow from my bedroom that would always come back in grass-stained. Even throughout college, I thought of summer as a time to catch up on my pleasure reading (even though as an English minor, I read plenty during the school year), in between lifeguarding shifts and babysitting jobs. There were family vacations and road trips to look forward to. Because I was a military brat, we always moved during the summer, every two or three years, and as a kid, I had a stomach like iron and could happily sit in the back seat with a backpack full of books while we crisscrossed the country. I’ve never thought of summer as a time to dig into big tomes of literature – I’d rather pick up Anna Karenina or Great Expectations during the cold winter months – and summer reading felt like a time to read books that are just as easy-going as the season itself.

But as a working, professional adult who even has to work on the Fourth of July this year (I KNOW…Kill me now!), summer reading doesn’t really have the same magic. I’m reading on my commute, on the weekends, and after work, the same as every other time of the year. I still want a book that’s going to fit my mood, though. That probably means this is the summer for a Steinbeck – like Cannery Row or East of Eden – along with my standard fare. Here are some New Releases for the summer I’ve already read or I’m looking forward to:

With so many books listed, this might seem a silly question. But what am I missing? What are you most excited for this summer? Should I pick up Robopocalypse or Bright’s Passage by singer-songwriter Josh Ritter? I’ve already got plans to read the Shiver series this summer since I’ve now got books two and three as well. Give me your best recommendations in the comments below and I’ll make it worth your while.* Anything goes! (Clearly by the collection above I’m not that discerning when it comes to genre).

*My bloggoversary is coming up in July, and I’ll be giving away three of the books pictured above over the course of my anniversary week. Which three books? You’ll have to wait and see! But leave me a recommendation here, and you’ll be automatically entered in each of the three giveaways 🙂

17 Responses to “Summer Reading: New Releases!”

  1. Heather June 30, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    I’m really looking forward to reading 2030 by Albert Brooks. I’ve heard a lot of great things about it. That would be my suggestion to add to your already large list.

    • Rachel June 30, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      Interesting! I didn’t even know he was writing a novel! Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

  2. jenn aka the picky girl June 30, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Domestic Violets is, in my opinion, a perfect summer read. This is one of my favorites. It’s humorous but so intelligent. It’s not often I run across a truly funny novel.

    And I second your suggestion of East of Eden. It’s one of my all-time favorites.

    However, if you’re looking for something NOT already above, I’d suggest Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones. Great novel.

    Also, I’m really looking forward to reading The Hypnotist. Pop Culture Nerd reviewed it, and I was hooked. I like mysteries/thrillers for summer reading and just read an Agatha Christie (And Then There Were None) that was fantastic.

    • William Torgerson June 30, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

      Somehow, this is the first time I’ve come across “Pop Culture Nerd.” I need to check that site out.

  3. William Torgerson June 30, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I’m reading Jane Roper’s Eden Lake right now. Might fit your summer mood as it takes place at a camp in Maine. It is complicating up nicely, not too predictable, with a nice mix of summer love and more complicated emotional puzzles. I like the idea of having a book to match your mood. Hmm, or does the book color the lenses you see the world through? 🙂

  4. Brenna (Literary Musings) June 30, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I read good things about Sugar in my Bowl. I’m going to keep my eye out for that one after my book-buying ban is over (August 1st). Until then, I’m going to hit my TBR pile pretty hard. East of Eden is a must.

  5. Karen July 1, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    I totally agree with matching your reading to the season, I hate reading books that are obviously meant for curling up by the fire with (cold, dark, wintery scenes) in the height of summer! I enjoyed ‘Food of Love’ by Anthony Capella, recently, a romantic summer in Rome, nice, easy reading too! Oh, and I’m VERY envious of your iron stomach to read in the car, I often lament at the wasted hours I could be reading, but I know that it would make me sick…!

  6. Kerry July 1, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Great, great, great list! I’m with you on being over-the-top excited for summer reading, although it has taken on a new meaning in light of leaving the world of school and entering the world of work. Although at least I don’t have to work on the 4th! That’s terrible!

    Of this list, I am dying dying dying (today must be a day for emphasis by repetition) for the new George R.R. Martin, and I’ve heard only good things about Maine, which is also on my list. I’m thrilled to see that Pete Hamill has a new book coming out – I missed that!

    I would add Freddy and Fredericka to your list if you haven’t already read it. Not because it’s a new book (it’s not), but because I think everyone should read it. It’s a fun summer read – I think I first read it over Memorial Day.

    Also, I’ve said it once before, but I love the blog redesign!

  7. Meg @ A Bookish Affair July 3, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I’m with you. I like to save the heavy books for the winter. Summer needs light reading!

  8. Jess July 5, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    I just read A Discovery of Witches — talk about a decadent summer read 🙂

    Love your suggestions here!

  9. Mandy July 12, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    So many good recommendations here! I’m dying to read In the Garden of Beasts — I love all of Larson’s other books!

    I would recommend anything by David Mitchell. He can have complicated ideas (Cloud Atlas, I’m looking at you) but the narratives are still clear, engaging and really fun. I especially recommend Black Swan Green for a great coming of age novel.

    • Rachel July 12, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      Thanks for the recommendation, Mandy. I’ve always been wary of Mitchell specifically because of Cloud Atlas, but I’ve heard good things about Black Swan Green. And I think I own The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet. Have you read that one?

  10. Meg @ A Bookish Affair July 12, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Here I am commenting again! I was able to get Domestic Violets off of Netgalley this week! Woot!

    • Rachel July 12, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

      OOOH Hooray! I’m so excited for that book. Hope you enjoy 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Review + Giveaway: State of Wonder by Anne Patchett « a home between pages - July 12, 2011

    […] handle – @homebtwnpages – so I can see your tweet.  And if you left a comment on my Summer Reading post, you’ll be automatically entered once. If you’d like to comment again and also […]

  2. Summer Reading Giveaway: Sugar in My Bowl by Erica Jong « a home between pages - July 13, 2011

    […] my Twitter handle – @homebtwnpages – so I can see your tweet.  And if you left a comment on my Summer Reading post, you’ll be automatically entered once. If you’d like to comment again and also tweet it, […]

  3. Summer Reading Review + Giveaway: Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson « a home between pages - July 18, 2011

    […] my Twitter handle – @homebtwnpages – so I can see your tweet.  And if you left a comment on my Summer Reading post, you’ll be automatically entered once. If you’d like to comment again and also tweet it, […]

Leave a Reply

