Two Years…

11 Jul

…and counting!

Yesterday marked two years that I’ve been on this book blogging adventure. I felt like I should’ve checked the calendar or something, but nope…two years. And what a two years it’s been. I wish I can say I’d been more on top of my book stats since I started this blog, so I could have a sense of how many books and how many pages I’ve read. But I’ve never been that on top of it, which if you’ve been reading me for any amount of time, you already know :).

This blog started because I needed a separate place, away from my now-defunct personal blog, to talk about the books I was reading and the publishing news I was interested in. As great as my personal blog and the friends I made from it were, they really didn’t care about what I was reading, and I needed a new community to share my book love with. And boy, did I ever find one! I had no idea that this space would become what it has, and while I know some other book blogs, two years in, have massive followings and regular posts scheduled well in advance, I’m happy improving and maintaining what has become a place where quality matters over quantity. You guys are the reason I keep blogging even when I’m tired or I think I don’t have much to say. In those moments, I know that there are at least a few people out there who actually will read what I write, which is flattering as hell.

So thanks to all of you.

And as I mentioned in my Summer Reading: New Releases post, I’ll be hosting giveaways all week as my way of saying thank you. I’ll also be posting some reviews and talking about the end – the for-real end – of Harry Potter as the final installment of the film adaptations finally lands at 12:01 Friday morning. I’ll be there, obvi, and I will probably cry. Just a warning.

In the meantime, head over to my Facebook page, poke around, and give it a like. Call it your bloggoversary gift to me ;).

11 Responses to “Two Years…”

  1. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) July 11, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    Congrats Rachel! I’m so glad to have met you, online and in person!

    • Rachel July 11, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

      Thank you, Kim! The same goes for me as well 🙂

  2. Brenna July 11, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Happy 2 years, Rachel! I plan on seeing the last Harry Potter this weekend as well, though I probably won’t cry.

    • Rachel July 11, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

      Thanks! I’m seeing Parts I & II back to back so I can’t guarantee my crying won’t be a little bit from exhaustion too.

  3. Greg Zimmerman July 11, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Two years, eh? That’s awesome – congrats! Please don’t ever stop. Yours is one the few blogs for which I’m sure to read every single post. You do great work. If I could recommend you linkedin-style, I would. Cheers!

    • Rachel July 11, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

      Thanks, Greg. That’s a huge compliment and I’m happy to call you a friend. Even if we have never met in person 🙂

  4. Jenn's Bookshelves July 11, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary!

  5. Rebecca @ The Book Lady's Blog July 11, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    Happy blogiversary! So glad you’re here.

  6. Kerry July 11, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    Congrats! Keep it up, please. I love reading your posts.

  7. Bree July 13, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    Congratulations! I like your comments in paragraph 2 and sticking with blogging for yourself and not for public.

  8. Dorothy W. July 13, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Congratulations on your two years! That’s wonderful, and I’m glad you enjoy blogging so much.

Leave a Reply

