Summer Reading Giveaway: Sugar in My Bowl by Erica Jong

13 Jul

I need a little sugar in my bowl,
I need a little hot dog, on my roll
I can stand a bit of lovin’, oh so bad,
I feel so funny, I feel so sad
—Bessie Smith

I’m a big fan of books about sex. I’ll just get that out of the way. I’m also a big fan of books that discuss and acknowledge intelligent female sex drives. There’s an academic explanation behind my fandom: my sociology major in college focused on gender and the media, I participated in several performances of Eve Ensler’s Vagina Monologues and I took enough women’s studies classes and did several workshops to qualify me for a second minor. But let’s be real: the interest came before the academics. I absolutely count myself as a feminist, but not in the stereotypical man-hater way, or that “I’m going to objectify myself because I think I’m empowered by feminism to do so when I’m really just falling in line with male-focused ideas of objectification” way. I’m a feminist in that “it’s my party and I’ll take home whoever I want to” kind of way. And it just doesn’t get any better than in Erica Jong’s new anthology Sugar in My Bowl: Real Women Write about Real Sex. Here’s the editorial description:

When it comes to sex, what do women want? In this eye-opening and courageous collection, Erica Jong reveals that every woman has her own answer. Susan Cheever talks about the ‘excruciating hazards of casual sex,’ while Gail Collins recounts her Catholic upbringing in Cincinnati and the nuns who passionately forbade her from having ‘carnal relations.’ In ‘Everything Must Go,’ Jennifer Weiner explores how, in love, the body can play just as big a role as the heart. The octogenarians in Karen Abbott’s sharp-eyed piece possess a passion that could give Betty White a run for her money. Molly Jong-Fast reflects on her unconventional upbringing and why a whole generation of young women have rejected ‘free love’ in favor of Bugaboo strollers and Mommy-and-me yoga. Sex, it turns out, can be as fleeting, heavy, mundane, and intense as the rest of life. Indeed, Jong states in her powerful introduction ‘the truth is—sex is life.’

I haven’t read this one yet, but it’s next on my list, perched on the bedside table (because where else would I read a book about sex but in bed? Maybe on the kitchen table? Or in a secluded corner?). I mean check out this list of contributors:

Erica Jong
Karen Abbott
Anne Roiphe
Jessica Winter
Jann Turner
Julie Klam
Susan Kinsolving
Susie Bright
Fay Weldon
Linda Gray Sexton
Elisa Albert
Barbara Victor
Daphne Merkin
Marisa Acocella Marchetto
Min Jin Lee
Honor Moore
Jennifer Weiner
Gail Collins
Liz Smith
Rebecca Walker
Jean Hanff Korelitz
Eve Ensler
Meghan O’Rourke
Rosemary Daniell
J. A. K. Andres
Molly Jong-Fast
Susan Cheever
Ariel Levy
Margot Magowan

It’s a varied and fascinating list of writers and I can’t wait to dig in (that’s what she said*). Also, yes, this totally counts as summer reading. Cause what’s more fun when you’re stuck inside because of heat advisories and you’ve got air conditioning to take advantage of?

(Read, obviously. What were you thinking, dirty mind??)

Want a copy? I know you do ;).

Leave a comment and make sure the email you provide is accurate so I can get in touch with you if you win. For an extra entry, tweet the giveaway, and make sure you use my Twitter handle – @homebtwnpages – so I can see your tweet.  And if you left a comment on my Summer Reading post, you’ll be automatically entered once. If you’d like to comment again and also tweet it, you’ll get two more!

 

UPDATE: I forgot to mention that I’ll be choosing a winner next Wednesday, the 20th.

*Come on…a book about sex and you expect me NOT to make a “that’s what she said” joke?  Pleeeeease! Also, I can’t wait to see the spam/search terms that get people to my blog from this post!

15 Responses to “Summer Reading Giveaway: Sugar in My Bowl by Erica Jong”

  1. Erin July 13, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Sounds interesting!

  2. Nicole July 13, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    A friend picked up a copy of this for me, and though I haven’t had the chance to read it yet, it does sound fascinating. I see you’re reading The Ridge now, I hope that you are enjoying it!

  3. Angie July 13, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    This book sounds great!! Rachel, I was a mass comm/journalism major, but it sounds like we had similar college views and experiences!

  4. Bex July 13, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Ooh this sounds really great!
    thetangledwebweweave@gmail.com, and I have tweeted about it @fairybookgirl 🙂

  5. Brenna July 13, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Ever since I read a review of Sugar in my Bowl over at BookLust I have been keeping my eye out for a copy! Even better if I could win one instead of buying it!

  6. Lacey July 13, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    This book had me with the amazing author list – Min Jin Lee, Honor Moore, Meghan O’Rourke, Gail Collins – definitely on my to read list.

  7. Heather July 14, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    Hmmm… this DOES sound interesting. Count me in!

  8. Mandy July 14, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    I would love love love to read this! It would definitely add some spice to my summer reading list!

  9. Michelle July 14, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Love Erica, love the cover art, can’t wait to read it!

    • Rachel July 14, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      The cover art is maybe one of my favorite parts. Hehehe. Parts.

  10. Julie July 15, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    This one looks like a good read – and one of the contributors will be at Decatur Book Festival this year! cla37619 at gmail dot com

  11. Nicki July 15, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    I have read Jong’s writings since I was a teen. Currently, I am reading her memoir – Fear of Fifty. Even if she didn’t write the entire book, I cannot wait to get my hands on the book. (my email is nconroy at stny dot rr dot com)

  12. Kerry July 18, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Oh! I’d love to read this, it sounds excellent. Thanks for the giveaway! ofabookworm@gmail.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WINNER: State of Wonder by Anne Patchett « a home between pages - July 18, 2011

    […] to everyone who entered! Remember, you’ve still got plenty of time to enter the other two giveaways currently still […]

  2. Borders & The Future of Bookselling « a home between pages - July 20, 2011

    […] you to use Powell’s: I’ll also be posting the giveaway winner for Erica Jong’s Sugar in My Bowl this evening at 8pm so be sure to enter by clicking on the title or […]

Leave a Reply

