Looking Forward: August

29 Jul

I’m starting a little early with my anticipation on August reading. Fitting, since I’m taking a road trip to my college campus this weekend for a wedding in the chapel. One of my best friends from college is making it official with his long-time girlfriend and I can’t wait to celebrate with him and a bunch of my other college friends. What a great way to kick off what’s sure to be an epic August.

Gorgeous, isn’t it?

The drive to campus is a long 7-hour car trip one way and I’ve downloaded a couple books to keep me company: I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman (nothing like a good mystery to keep me distracted from the miles clicking by) and Travels with Charley in Search of America by John Steinbeck (a good roadtrip book and a classic to cross off my list).

Then the weekend after, I’m heading up to Boston for a bachelorette party and wedding shower, and I’ll have a good long train ride to catch up on my reading as well. I’m thinking Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close or How to Love an American Man: A True Story by Kristine Gasbarre will be particularly fitting for a weekend filled with wedding plans and girlfriends. Or if I’m feeling particularly single, something to take my mind off the theme of the weekend, like Just My Type: A Book about Fonts by Simon Garfield (check out my blog on Aug. 22nd – I’ll be a stop on the tour for this one!) or The Storm of War: A New History of the Second World War by Andrew Roberts (nothing like war to take your mind off love, right?)

After that, August is calming down a bit (but just a bit!). I’m not traveling any more until September, but mid-August, I’m having surgery to have my gallbladder removed. Not a big deal, I promise, but I’m taking a week off work to recover, and I will have nothing to do but read! (Am I crazy for actually looking forward to this medically-imposed stay-cation where I’ll have to lay on the couch and not do anything? I know I’ll be in pain, probably, and will need help moving around for a few days, but really, I’m not that concerned and I could use the break and the opportunity to catch up on reading and blogging.)

I think I’ll finally, FINALLY, get to dig into East of Eden or maybe I’ll catch up with The Magicians and its sequel The Magician King. I’m sure a YA or Middle Grade book will make an appearance like Fury by Elizabeth Miles or Wildwood by Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis.


Clearly I’ve got a jam-packed reading month ahead of me. I can’t wait, since I officially start classes for my Master’s on August 29 – rounding out a full reading month with more academic books to come. What are you looking forward to in August, books or otherwise?

9 Responses to “Looking Forward: August”

  1. Latesha A Goodman July 30, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    I’m looking forward to the fall semester too! I’m more excited about meeting interesting people. Your reading list is impressive, I’m realizing I need to put down my blogs and integrate more reading into my schedule. I think you’re blog is amazing and if its any indication to your character, looking forward.

    Safe travels,

    Latesha Goodman

  2. megan August 1, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    good luck with your reading! Aug is gonna be busy for me too.

  3. nomadreader August 1, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I’m looking forward to reading How to Love an American Man this month too. It seems like such an appropriate summer read, doesn’t it?

    • Rachel August 1, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      It definitely does. I had the opportunity to meet the author at BEA this last May, and just talking to her made me want to read this book.

  4. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) August 2, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    What a great selection of books — I want to read almost all of them! Just My Type looks especially good, and I’m excited about The Magician King too.

  5. Meg August 2, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Ooo, I see a couple books that I have to add to my TBR list. One thing that I love about traveling is all of the reading that I get to do!

  6. Amanda August 18, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Oh! I hope your surgery goes or went well! East of Eden is very good but it’s been a while since I read it. I love love Fury’s cover. I haven’t read The Magicians yet. I’m curious to see if they are good.

    • Rachel August 18, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

      It’s tomorrow! Thanks! I packed my bag for the week I’ll be away from my apartment and the hardest part was picking the books I’m taking with me.

  7. Melody Wilson August 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    It’s funny, because–as you probably noticed–Lippman mentions “Travels with Charley” in “I’d Know You Anywhere”!

Leave a Reply

