#200

1 Sep

Wow. Two hundred posts and it only took me two years and two months to get there :-/.  All snark aside, I’m really thrilled to hit this milestone. It’s one thing to say, I’ve been blogging for two years; it’s something else entirely to be able to count those years in hundreds of posts. I’ve had the chance to do some really great stuff because of and for this blog, and I’ve met some awesome people, and I’ve had opportunities opened to me that would never, never have happened otherwise. I know that blogging about books for some people is a way to be involved on a much more intense level in something they really love, that otherwise would be just a hobby. For me, blogging and the book blogging community have only strengthened my desire to one day work in the industry in some capacity.

So it feels only appropriate that I write this post during my first week of grad school classes for my Master’s in Publishing. I’m so excited for this program, you guys. But omg, the work load may kill me. As I pile a Master’s degree onto everything else in my life, I ask for your patience if my posting gets slightly more sporadic. I’m going to do my best to post at least once or twice a week, but some weeks may not get even that. I’m taking two classes right now: Book & Journal Publishing, and Fundamentals of ePublishing. And in honor of my 200th post, I thought since you guys are as ardent book fans as I am, you might like to see what I’m reading for those classes.


Merchants of Culture by John B. Thompson

The Book: The Life Story of a Technology by Nicole Howard

Book Business Publishing: Past, Present, and Future by Jason Epstein

Publishing for Profit by Thomas Woll

The Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition

Okay I might just be kind of a nerd, but I’m excited :). Thanks for sticking with me for 200 posts, and here’s to at least 200 more!

10 Responses to “#200”

  1. Greg Zimmerman September 1, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Congrats on the double-century mark, and on starting your Master’s. Awesome, both! Cheers!

    • Rachel September 1, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      Gracias 🙂

  2. Brenna September 1, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Wow I would love to get a masters in publishing. I look forward to hearing about your classes and what you are learning. Keep us updated! And happy 200 🙂

    • Rachel September 1, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      Thank you! I’m really excited and you can be sure I’ll be updating frequently.

  3. Cheney September 1, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    It’s nice reaching those blog milestones. I also look forward to hearing about your classes – it’s awesome hearing that schools are already teaching for those in the e-book generation!

  4. chroniclesofalibrarianintraining September 1, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    I figured now was as good a time as any to break free from the shackles of lurker-dom and offer congratulations on your 200th post and new adventures in academia.

    I started my Master’s in Library and Information Science about a year and a half ago and I remember that initial feeling of “How am I possibly going to balance everything?” coupled with “I get to buy new school supplies!”

    I wish you the best of luck!

    Michele

    • Rachel September 1, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

      Michele! So glad you delurked :). And welcome!

      Those two thoughts were exactly what went through my head. YAY and OMG. Simultaneously. Thank you so much for reading and for your good wishes. I will need them :).

  5. Melody Wilson September 2, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Oh, what a great idea! I’ll have to copy you for my school reading list!

    I’ve more or less read both Publishing for Profit and the Chicago Manual. The others look cool too!

  6. Meg @ A Bookish Affair September 5, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Good luck with grad school!

  7. Kari September 13, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Congrats on the Master’s program! Didn’t realize you were starting that.

    I feel ya with the more sporadic posting. I’ve said for months that “school” is my excuse but in reality, LIFE is just my excuse; I still didn’t post much when I was on break for three months, either. Don’t feel stressed about posting or not posting—once you stress about it, it loses its fun and then it feels more like a job! Enjoy what you’re reading, enjoy and get the most out of your classes!

Leave a Reply

