Book Blogger Appreciation Week 2011 – Who Do You Love?

13 Sep

 

Once again this year, I find myself behind the ball on Book Bloggers Appreciation Week. But I’ve figured out why – my birthday was last Friday, the 9th, and my mom’s birthday is the 14th, so in the middle of a very busy week, BBAW somehow always slips my mind. That being said, I love BBAW! The awards – and the short lists – are a great way to find new bloggers who are respected by their fellow bloggers. Think of it like the Screen Actors Guild Awards – your peers sending out their love. With that in mind, I want to highlight a few bloggers that are on my never-miss list. Even though my blog reading has been dismal lately (I promise, I will try to come say hello to everyone soon), there are a couple that I just never miss, even when my mouse hovers over the “Mark All As Read” button. Plus I know I’ve got good taste – many of my picks were also nominated for BBAW awards.

  1. Kit at Books are my Boyfriends is one of those bloggers that I read when I’m having a really crappy day, and I need a good laugh. The fact that it’s also about books is just a plus. Kit’s a new blogger and she just won the Best New Book Blog award. So like for real, she’s awesome. And not just as a blogger. I met Kit at BEA in May and we trekked to Brooklyn for some WORDyness, a ZAZEN reading, and pizza. Awesomesauce. Also she posts pictures like this of her on dates with her books.
  2. Greg at The New Dork Review of Books is my book twin. I’ve decided. You’re welcome, Greg. We seem to read a lot of the same books, sometimes without realizing it. Like that time earlier this year, when we both decided randomly to read Gone With the Wind. Yeah, that was kind of creepy. We also have not been agreeing on much. Sadly. But you know someone is a great blogger when I’m waiting to find out if he did or didn’t like the same book I did just so I can post an argument. I won’t stop reading just because we disagree, but we do like so many of the same books, it’s hard to stay away, even on my busiest of days. (We just won’t discuss the whole West of Here debacle). And he’s short-listed for Best Literary Fiction Book Blog.
  3. Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness because she manages to read non-fiction and blog about it in a way that makes me WANT to read all the biographies and current events and history books I collect but never read. And she doesn’t make me feel guilty for not being as knowledgeable about that stuff as she is. Aaaand she’s short-listed for Best Nonfiction Book Blog. (Man all my favorite bloggers and nominated for stuff and I’m not. I’m gonna get a complex.)
  4. Amy at Amy Reads manages, in four days, to go from YA fiction (Shutout) to fantasy (A Clash of Kings) to Nigerian literature (As The Crow Flies) without looking schizophrenic. It’s a rare talent. For real, I’ve tried that here, and my brain explodes.
  5. The Ape at The Reading Ape (he’s got a name ::ehem:: Jeff, but I like calling him the Ape) because he’s really smart and seemingly very intimidating, but actually is not in person. Wait. He’s still really smart, he’s just not that intimidating in person. He also seems very surprised by the fact that people are, like, scared of him. And when you meet him, it’s clear why. He’s very chill, which actually makes sense when you read his blog. It’s smart, but not overly intellectual. He expects a lot from what he reads, but isn’t pretentious about it. That says a lot when you’re talking about a Literature professor from Brooklyn.

So there we go. There’s a lot of great bloggers that I haven’t mentioned, but I haven’t had coffee yet, and my brain hurts from writing already. Who do you love to read (besides me, obviously)? Any bloggers I might not know about that you’d like to share?

6 Responses to “Book Blogger Appreciation Week 2011 – Who Do You Love?”

  1. Greg Zimmerman September 13, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Yeah, there was the West of Here debacle, but let’s also remember the The Year We Left Home brouhaha. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I want those four days of my life back!

    Thanks for the linkage, book twin!

  2. amymckie September 13, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Wow, thank you so much for putting me in such great company ๐Ÿ™‚ I sometimes feel a bit schizophrenic with the reading but I’m glad it comes across OK ๐Ÿ˜‰ I follow all the other bloggers you mention as well – they’re all wonderful!

  3. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness)i September 13, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Thanks for the mention, Rachel! It means a lot to me that you think I can write about nonfiction in a way that makes it seem appealing; that can seem so hard sometimes.

    And overall, a great list of bloggers. I feel the same way about Amy’s blog — I never quite know what she’ll review that day, but I’m always curious what she’ll say.

  4. Tea Time with Marce September 13, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I found Books Boyfriends yesterday, also won best new blog, very cool.

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Kevin book….. I must read that one this year, have heard amazing things about such an emotional hard read.

  5. Gayle September 13, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Great choices of bloggers there! Totally agree.

    I had to comment because you are currently reading two of my all time favorite books. Hope you’re enjoying them.

  6. The Reading Ape September 14, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    So I guess Brooklyn is now the capital of literary pretentiousness. Sounds about right.

    Thanks for the mention…sparkling company here.

Leave a Reply

