#IndieThursday: Shopping Trip!

15 Sep

Jenn at Jenn’s BookShelves (also one of my favorite local bloggers) recently started a new series on Twitter celebrating Indie Bookstores. I’ve tried to become much more thoughtful and conscientious of where I make my book purchases. I stay entirely away from Amazon.com if I can help it (for books at least. But when they’ve got West Wing seasons at 16 bucks a piece? Yeah, I’m helpless when it comes to Aaron Sorkin). I had to buy a couple of cookbooks for my mom and the only bookstore convenient to me at work is Barnes & Noble. But for the most part, I shop Indie.  (One of the difficulties of shopping Indies is that since Olsson’s in Penn Quarter closed a few years ago – one of the great DC indie chains – I have no store near my office aside from B&N).

Last weekend, I celebrated my birthday by flying to Boston and then driving to Maine with friends for a wedding. But before we left the Boston area, I made a trip to one of my favorite bookstores, Brookline Booksmith, in Coolidge Corner.  No matter what, whenever I visit my friends in Boston, I make a pilgrimage to the Booksmith. Their selection is fantastic – I always know I’m going to find something I’ve been looking for elsewhere or something I’ve never heard of. The booksellers are incredibly helpful and they list employee recommendations  throughout the store on shelftalkers. I’ve found some stellar books just by using these recommendations.

This trip was no exception. I picked up four paperbacks:

The Curfew by Jesse Ball
Pretty by Jillian Lauren
Record Collecting for Girls: Unleashing Your Inner Music Nerd, One Album at a Time by Courtney Smith
The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa

Great haul, huh?

After somehow finding space in my suitcase for those, I spent a couple fabulous days freezing my butt off on the coast of Maine, just north of the New Hampshire/Maine border. It was a beautiful wedding, and I got to spend my birthday weekend with my very best friends in the world. On the way back to Boston, I put on my best innocent smile, and convinced my traveling buddies that we needed to stop in Portsmouth, NH so I could visit RiverRun Bookstore (and meet Liberty who came running into the store and yelled, Is anyone here Rachel?? LOVE.)

Of course I had to pick up a few things there too!


Other People We Married by Emma Straub
Mudbound by Hilary Jordan

So I managed to come home from a three-day trip with six additional books. Because of course, I brought a couple with me to start with. Needless to say, my suitcase was rather heavy by the time I got home. What are your favorite indie bookstores? Join the conversation on Twitter by sharing your most recent purchase at an indie book store by using the hashtag #indiethursday!

9 Responses to “#IndieThursday: Shopping Trip!”

  1. Jenn's Bookshelves September 15, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    What a great haul! Thanks for the #IndieTHursday mention!!

  2. The Reading Ape September 15, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    CURFEW CURFEW CURFEW CURFEW CURFEW

    • Rachel September 15, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      Yeah, yeah. All the comments I made about it not sounding like my kind of book – I lied. It looks great. And you loved it. That’s enough for me.

  3. Brenna September 15, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Nice haul! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on OTHER PEOPLE WE MARRIED.

    • Rachel September 15, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

      I am so excited to read that. SO EXCITED.

  4. Alley September 15, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Jealous you got to go to the Booksmith! It’s probably the thing I miss most about living in Boston. I’m also with you on the Aaron Sorkin love.

    • Rachel September 15, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

      I lurve the Booksmith. It’s become a problem 🙂

  5. amymckie September 15, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Fun books! I hope you enjoy them.

  6. Biblibio September 23, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    The greatest thing about the Booksmith: it’s exactly a three-minute walk away from where I stay when I’m in the US. I’m not exaggerating. I’ve timed it.

    Also: the used bookstore. Alas, I only discovered the wonders of the basement during my last visit and didn’t fully exploit it. A hidden gem if there ever was one…

Leave a Reply

