Reading from A Prayer for Owen Meany

29 Sep

To celebrate Banned Books Week this week, I decided to just get over my serious self-consciousness about what I look and sound like on video to take part in the Virtual Read-Out. I chose one of my favorite authors and one of my favorite books to read from, John Irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany.



Check out the link above for instructions on how to upload your own.

3 Responses to “Reading from A Prayer for Owen Meany”

  1. Rebecca @ The Book Lady's Blog September 29, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    What a perfect selection! I love OWEN MEANY also and clicked through to this hoping against hope that you’d pick a section that involved the ALL CAPS OWEN MEANY VOICE, though I have to admit that I have no idea how I’d do it. SO glad it was a gorgeous section about books and reading instead. 🙂

    • Rachel September 29, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      This is one of my favorite parts of the book. The irony of the grandmother not appreciating writing, but loving reading is such a great characterization. I feel like we know exactly what kind of person she is from that passage. There was also NO WAY I’d be able to do an ALL CAPS OWEN MEANY voice without laughing every two seconds.

  2. Kerry September 29, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Love this! I’ve never read it, but this is a great passage. Thanks for braving the camera!

Leave a Reply

