I Read-a-thon. Do You?

10 Oct

(I’ve got a post up on Book Riot today too. Go check it out: All Hail the Library Book Sale)

Ten days from now, Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon kicks off, and once again, I’ll be ready with a stack of books, hot cocoa and my checkbook. Why my checkbook? Because as in past read-a-thons, I’ll be turning pages for charity. More about that in a minute. If you’ve never done a 24 Hour Read-a-thon, I highly recommend it. At no other time in my life do I get to legitimately clear my schedule for reading; I also feel less guilty for not making (or canceling) plans since I donate to a good cause while I’m participating. I’m already deciding on a reading list – sadly, some school reading is going to have to be on it – but I’ll post a final list next week, when I’ve narrowed down my choices.

Now, on to the charity I’m choosing this year!

I’ve decided that I’m going to donate 10 cents a page to First Book, a literacy organization that provides new books to low-income children. My former boss works for First Book now, and I know it’s a great cause and a great non-profit, and I’m happy to use my time reading to benefit children who may not otherwise own books of their own.

So will you be reading? You can sign up here to read. Or if you can’t commit to the full 24 hours, you can sign up to be a cheerleader (highly beneficial when it’s 2am and you’re struggling to keep your eyes open), sign up here. And if you plan on reading for charity, I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

7 Responses to “I Read-a-thon. Do You?”

  1. Kerry October 10, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I have wanted to participate in a Read-a-Thon since I first started blogging and heard about them, and I swear I am cursed. For two years running, I have had out-of-town guests during the read-a-thons I hear of. And lo and behold!, my in-laws are coming to visit… in 10 days. Oh well. Maybe next time! I wish you the best of luck – looking forward to seeing your reading list.

  2. Brenna October 10, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I did the read-a-thon in April for the first time and had a great time. You’re right, it’s one of the only times I can sit and read all day without feeling bad about it. Good luck! I haven’t figured out if my schedule will allow me to participate the October read-a-thon, but I’m hoping I can.

  3. Meg @ A Bookish Affair October 10, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Aww, I’m really disappointed that I’m going to be gone for Dewey’s read-a-thon. Good luck!

  4. Megan October 10, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I’m definitely looking forward to the Read-a-thon this time around. Usually, I somehow manage to be out of town the weekend it happens – no so this time!

    I’ve never read for a cause, but you’ve got me thinking that maybe this time I should. My town was recently hit badly by flooding, and a lot of people lost everything. Even though I already gave, the Read-a-thon might well be a perfect opportunity to help out even more!

  5. ohemgillie October 10, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    I’ve never done this, but it sounds awesome. I guess all that reading I got to do during Irene was good practice.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Read-a-thon Reading List + Charity Update! « a home between pages - October 15, 2011

    […] posted a few days ago about how I’m planning on participating in the 24-hour Read-a-thon on Oct. […]

  2. Anna Karenina + Friday Wrap-Up « a home between pages - October 15, 2011

    […] it, I posted a review of The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon, announced my intention to read-a-thon for charity again this year, and then amended that announcement with my reading list, a second […]

Leave a Reply

